Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
dcdennis

Searching with Luwin

Recommended Posts

 By the letter of the text, if I search and find an event, must I take it to hand? Or can I leave it in the deck so it wont get discarded by an imminent INT challenge?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

dcdennis said:

 By the letter of the text, if I search and find an event, must I take it to hand? Or can I leave it in the deck so it wont get discarded by an imminent INT challenge?

If you don't want to take anything to hand, just don't trigger the Response. Case closed. Or am I missing anything?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ratatoskr said:

dcdennis said:

 

 By the letter of the text, if I search and find an event, must I take it to hand? Or can I leave it in the deck so it wont get discarded by an imminent INT challenge?

 

 

If you don't want to take anything to hand, just don't trigger the Response. Case closed. Or am I missing anything?

 

read the op again. maybe i am FP, i do an int chal with luwin but i have an empty hand. i look for a no quarter to use for my mil challenge, but all i find is a to be a wolf that im not allowed to use yet, and i have no standing int left so i know it will be discarded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you trigger Luwin, find an event in the top 5 cards of your deck, and don't reveal/put it in your hand (shuffling it back into your deck with the other 4 cards), you are cheating. Once triggered, you have to do as much of the effect as you can, whether you want to or not. Your choice is whether or not to initiate the effect in the first place, not how much of it you resolve.

Of course, since you only have to reveal the event you put into your hand, you will probably get away with it if you do decide to cheat. Not that I'm encouraging that kind of douchery, but it is definitely an "honor code" kind of thing with that particular card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothing in the rules requires it - any more than At the Gates requires you to reveal your entire deck to prove that you have no in-House or neutral Maesters with printed cost 3 or lower remaining if you don't find one of those. Further, if you had to reveal the cards you search, why would you have to reveal the event you put into your hand?

Now, there is an entry in the FAQ that says you have to reveal the cards you find with a search to show that they meet all play restrictions, but it does not follow from this entry that you must reveal the cards you search through to show that no card meeting all play restrictions is there to be found.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My understanding stemmed from the FAQ entry stating you must reveal to show they follow restrictions, and meant that you only had to show when you did not find an event to prove that you indeed did not find one.  Only still show the actual event you choose/find if you do indeed net one with your search.  I suppose this was possibly reading too much into the entry, just assumed that it may have encompassed more things that it does.  The At The Gates analogy makes all the sense, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. As explained above, "always reveal the card you find to prove it meets the search requirements" is very different from "always reveal the cards you search through to prove there are no cards among them that meet the search requirements." 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

while we're at it with luwin, if you search for an event, cna you play it in the same response window as luwin? for example, you defend with luwin, search for routing the charge and play it immediately?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Robby Stark said:

while we're at it with luwin, if you search for an event, cna you play it in the same response window as luwin? for example, you defend with luwin, search for routing the charge and play it immediately?

Sure you can. Nothing prevents it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...