Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Lemminkaeinen

Putting Black Dog into play from your hand

Recommended Posts

Do you need a Black Dog in play in order to use its response (so you'd need one in play and a second one in hand) or can you use the response straight from your hand? If the latter, what character abilities can you use straight from your hand?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lemminkäinen said:

Do you need a Black Dog in play in order to use its response (so you'd need one in play and a second one in hand) or can you use the response straight from your hand? If the latter, what character abilities can you use straight from your hand?

You can play it from your hand, since the card text says you 'put it into play', thus allowing you to bypass any of the normal restrictions. Aside from event cards you can play cards from your hand that say so, e.g. 'Parallel Universe'.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes, it's a sneaky little bypass rule to the normal restrictions on characters and supports usually only playable in the operations phase. day dreamer is another good example. it can be played permanently during the operations phase, or in any phase using its ability, then returning to your hand at the end of whichever phase it was used.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 "put Black Dog into play from your hand " as card name in description is self referential (FAQ) this text doesnt even allow other dog to affect a card in hand. The only cards that can be used like this are the ones that say so ("from hand").

A good example is master of myths that is crazy powerful IMO - willpower, toughness that heals, 3 A, 3 skill and he can be added to any deck… maybe cost to play him should be 2 or restriction or sth, i really wouldn't want power creep to spoil this game. I recently got into it, bought a big pile of cards and like the game… or maybe there is sth i miss abut this guys strength…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

plasticXO said:

Does the Black Dog exhaust to be commited to a story when played from your hand ?

No, it does not exhaust to commit.  This is from the FAQ:

 

"Cats of Ulthar, and any card that comes
into play committed, or otherwise
commits to a story outside of the
commit characters window of the
Story Phase does so without having to
exhaust unless another effect forces it
to do so.."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, thanks.

I have another question : If my opponent commits 2 characters to a story and I uncommit one with the Cavern of the Flame. Can I put the Dogs afterward ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. It is the act of committing exactly one character that serves as the play requirement for Black Dogs…that said, each use of a Black Dog opens up an opportunity for the other player to trigger his or her own Black Dog.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Slight correction: black dog enters play commited, you cant respond to black dog with black dog. Also he's really nice with Negotium Perambulans in Tenebris :>

But the idea I agree with: black dog is interested in the act of commiting characters, not how many are commited at any point in time.

If some characters were already commited (becouse of Voice of the Jungle for example) Black dog is interested in how many "new" characres are commited, not how many ware there already, or the total number of characters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...