Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
radiskull

Items/Stones and Maintained spells

Recommended Posts

Under what circumstances do items count against your hand limit?  It's my understanding that a big rock or something counts against your hand limit until you throw it, at which point it's available to be picked up by anyone.  But how does that jive with things like tacks which are meant to be dropped on the ground immediately - are you still maintaining the spell even when the item is just laying there?

But then once someone picks it up, does it count as being maintained by them?

Also, under what circumstances can you dispel an item spell?  Only if you're holding the item? Only if you're the original caster?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With items that are dropped, I place the token on the board and then immediately after place the item card next to the board too. Because you have lost ownership and it has dropped, it lands in "neutral" territory for anyone to pick up and use. When a wizard picks up the item token, he gains the respective item card. That's how we play and I'm not sure how close the rules relate or identify what in fact should be done procedurally.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I play this way too. The nuance is the following, play an item is a mundane action and maintain a spell is a magical action. When you play a item card it is permanent and you can´t decide discard it (you can drop it) and if you die the item remain. When you cast a spell you have absolutely control of it, you can decide when stop it and if you die the spell is discarted and the effect ends.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...