Sign in to follow this  
Warboss Krag

SSU Primer: Why the wrong color?

Is anyone besides me surprised (and somewhat miffed) that the SSU models come primed, with heavy irony, in approximately German armor mustard? Why didn't FFG prime them in Russian black-green? I'm going to have to paint over each vehicle completely in black-green, very carefully (to avoid painting the pre-applied decals - as a modeler, I hate that feature).

(I had to get Op. Zverograd for Tactics; I wanted Koshka and Gra'Ma, central to the comic.)

(Speaking of babes from the comic, when do we get the Allied nurse model?)

Warboss Krag said:

Is anyone besides me surprised (and somewhat miffed) that the SSU models come primed, with heavy irony, in approximately German armor mustard? Why didn't FFG prime them in Russian black-green? I'm going to have to paint over each vehicle completely in black-green, very carefully (to avoid painting the pre-applied decals - as a modeler, I hate that feature).

(I had to get Op. Zverograd for Tactics; I wanted Koshka and Gra'Ma, central to the comic.)

Warboss Krag said:

hi guess you might already know this but Dust Models sell Decal Sets for Dust Miniatures. 

http://dust-models.com/products.php?nid=21

After a respray to a more appropriate colour I use these or other commercially available WW2 decals.

my Allied Walkers are all in British Khaki Drab with British tactical markings., and most of my Germans are 21st Panzer Division in Mustard / green / red brown cammo happy.gif

All of my KV47s from Dust Models and my Fuy of Ivan are sprayed muddy brown with a healthy dose of black washes. And the decals from various WW2 sites (including Dust Models) add diversity. Sure, it owuld be nice if the sets themselves came with decal sheets, but that is the hand FFG dealt us.