Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MaddockKrug

The Guitar and Melee Combat

10 posts in this topic

Hi there,

first of: I am sorry, but I own the German version of the game, and I have not found kind of a detailed list about all the different cards and items in game. Therefore I try to describe my issues with "The Guitar" and "Melee Combat". I hope you will be able to help me out regardless of that ...

Today three friends and I played the fourth scenario of Mansions of Madness with the main clue 1c. Therefore the three investigators hat to kill the Witch Detaigne.

During the game I as the Keeper used an action against one of the investigators - the one controlling him and using one of his items against another gamer.

 

Question one: The friend of mine played "Ashcan" Pete, and he had his guitar. The description for the guitar says something like this:

Action - discard the guitar and attack a monster.

May I as the Keeper use this against another Investigator although Investigators are not monsters?

 

Question two: So I did - I used the action for the guitar of "Ashcan's" with "uncontrollable urge" (or something) against another Investigator in the same field. And I drew a melee combat card, which reads something like this:

Check your strength. Success: He aches and is convulsed in pain. You deal Weapon Damage + 1, No Success: He grips your weapon and pulls it off your hand. You drop the Weapon.

When we played along the card, "Ashcan" had no success with his by me controlled attack; so according to the Melee Attack card the Guitar should have been dropped to the ground of the room; bot otherwise the guitar description says that you discard the guitar card as soon as you take an action to attack a monster with the guitar ... So would the guitar remain in game but dropped to the floor, or would the guitar be discarded?

 

Besides all this: His there somewhere a list of all the cards of the game available on the internet?

 

All the best!

Mad

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MaddockKrug said:

 

Question one: The friend of mine played "Ashcan" Pete, and he had his guitar. The description for the guitar says something like this:

Action - discard the guitar and attack a monster.

May I as the Keeper use this against another Investigator although Investigators are not monsters?

Nope. 

MaddockKrug said:

Question two: So I did - I used the action for the guitar of "Ashcan's" with "uncontrollable urge" (or something) against another Investigator in the same field. And I drew a melee combat card, which reads something like this:

Check your strength. Success: He aches and is convulsed in pain. You deal Weapon Damage + 1, No Success: He grips your weapon and pulls it off your hand. You drop the Weapon.

When we played along the card, "Ashcan" had no success with his by me controlled attack; so according to the Melee Attack card the Guitar should have been dropped to the ground of the room; bot otherwise the guitar description says that you discard the guitar card as soon as you take an action to attack a monster with the guitar ... So would the guitar remain in game but dropped to the floor, or would the guitar be discarded?

Hmm, I would probably discard it. I think the idea is that the guitar breaks as you bash something with it, so maybe the target pulls it out of your hands and it breaks then. Moot point for UU though, but against a normal monster.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As for your second question: I'd play this literally. Whenever you decide to attack smthng with a guitar, the guitar is destroyed in the process. If you're said to drop the object, then this means the guitar is destroyed by impacting the ground. Which is plausible, especially if you think that, in order to harm someone, you have to use some strength while swinging your guitar.


As for your first question.. technically, one of your pals is not a monster. So, Dam is right. But I don't see any reason why you shouldn't be able to hit one of your friends if you're allowed to hit a Shoggoth with the very same object. So, I'd go with your interpretation (don't know if this was clarified elsewhere, though, so, handle with care my answer)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julia said:

As for your first question.. technically, one of your pals is not a monster. So, Dam is right. But I don't see any reason why you shouldn't be able to hit one of your friends if you're allowed to hit a Shoggoth with the very same object. So, I'd go with your interpretation (don't know if this was clarified elsewhere, though, so, handle with care my answer)

"Q: Can the keeper use Uncontrollable urges to make an
investigator attack another Investigator with a weapon?
What about spells?
A: No. This only allows him to use a spell, equipment, artifact
or tome card." (FAQ, p. 3)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dam said:

Julia said:

 

As for your first question.. technically, one of your pals is not a monster. So, Dam is right. But I don't see any reason why you shouldn't be able to hit one of your friends if you're allowed to hit a Shoggoth with the very same object. So, I'd go with your interpretation (don't know if this was clarified elsewhere, though, so, handle with care my answer)

 

 

"Q: Can the keeper use Uncontrollable urges to make an
investigator attack another Investigator with a weapon?
What about spells?
A: No. This only allows him to use a spell, equipment, artifact
or tome card." (FAQ, p. 3)

Good to know, thanks Dam!

Still, you can use an artifact but not a guitar. Funny...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you very much.

 

Last night I "ruled out" that the combat card would overrule the guitar-action-discription. But what you explain here sounds fair and convincing to me. In the future I won't do this mistake again.

And the one with UU as well ... I won't do it again ...

All the best!

Mad

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julia said:

Good to know, thanks Dam!

Still, you can use an artifact but not a guitar. Funny...

Well, you can UU Guitar for the move monster action, could be actually useful in some cases. Move monster closer so that your once per monster movement Keeper Action then allows it to get to the same space for an attack (or combo with Take Sample).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dam said:

Julia said:

Good to know, thanks Dam!

 

Still, you can use an artifact but not a guitar. Funny...

 

 

Well, you can UU Guitar for the move monster action, could be actually useful in some cases. Move monster closer so that your once per monster movement Keeper Action then allows it to get to the same space for an attack (or combo with Take Sample).

Yeah, very true

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

One more question. The investigator may choose to attack with his own hands, even carrying a device attack?
 
For example,  Ashcan's  can choose attack with his hands in order not to discard the guitar?
 
Same for others equipaments.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

rubenflh said:

 

One more question. The investigator may choose to attack with his own hands, even carrying a device attack?
 
For example,  Ashcan's  can choose attack with his hands in order not to discard the guitar?
 
Same for others equipaments.

Absolutely! Just because he has the equipment doesn't mean he has to use it. You may always choose to make an unarmed attack instead of using a weapon, it just doesn't do as much damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0