Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Rashley

Single use Command Cards

Recommended Posts

I have just started playing this game again after a short interval and was a little confused about non full use of Command Cards.  I know that all the cards should be read as 'up to X units' etc.  However, I believe I saw that ANY Command Card could be used to order a single unit.  Does this mean that a redundant 'Rally All' card could be used to order a single unit to move/attack?  Cheers!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I hoped that was the case, and I assume a Commander has to give that command.  Now I can get back to refighting all the scenarios from basic and 1st two expansions.  I am notating them so I can write them up as stories.  Cheers!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Please let us know where to find those stories on the web. Ours are here (and on BGG): http://lannister4live.tumblr.com/

BTW. I don't think that playing with the optional rules will make much of a difference. In particular, I've seldom found the need to use an reactivate all card to order a unit (or if I did, I lacked an order token, or the unit was not in command range, or ...). The errata (non-optional) rule about directional retreats is much more important.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that the 'directional retreat' rule is more significant, but just wanted to check that a 'Rally' Command card could be used to move/attack a single unit and wether it was still a 'Command' - put token on commander - or just an 'Order'.  Of the other 'new' rules, the 'coordinated attacks' give a good option as a 'flanking' attack can sometimes be lost if the 1st unit 'retreats' the target away from the 2nd+ unit.  I havn't really tried the 'withdrawl' option.

The other rule which I often have to think hard about is the 'reduced strength' one.  It obviously reduces the dice rolled by 1, but is this counted as a 'modifier'?  Eg:- A Blue unit attacking into a wood has maximum 2 dice before modifiers.  If it has only half or less figures remaining, is it normal maximum 2 dice then minus 1 dice for reduced, or minus 1 dice for reduced then its maximum 2 dice?  For Red units it is even more marked! Cheers!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I believe it is counted as a modifier, so a Red Rank Unit at Reduced Strength attacking into or out of a Forest would only roll one Attack die.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Is there a rule on a minimum number of combat dice rolled?  Can a unit be reduced to zero combat dice, or is there a minimum of say, [1] combat die?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a minimum of one die. Can't find the post where this is clarified, though. This does not apply to units supporting a coordinated attack, though - a reduced strength green unit will contribute no extra die.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...