Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ppski

Triggered actions - few important questions.

Recommended Posts

Just heard back from Lukas, but only to tell me:

I'll get back to you on this when I have time to do this topic justice. Might not be until right before the next FAQ is released

Will post here when its figured out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Entropy42 said:

Just heard back from Lukas, but only to tell me:

I'll get back to you on this when I have time to do this topic justice. Might not be until right before the next FAQ is released

Will post here when its figured out.

 

OK, THX a lot! We are waiting for the answer...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got the answer to all this, and some of this stuff will also be obvious from FAQ 1.7, but I figured I'd lay it out in this thread anyway.

Questions:

1. If a card has a triggered action, and its trigger condition is met, but the card then leaves play before the next action window (and before that effect can be put on the chain), does that effect still go on the chain?
1b. Is a card considered "triggered" as soon as its trigger condition is met? Or as soon as it is put on the chain?
My understanding is as follows:

  • Trigger Event Happens
  • Player chooses whether or not they want to trigger the effect (since actions are optional). The unit must be in play at this step.
  • Action Window Opens
  • Player controlling that effect can choose to "activate" it and put it on the chain at this time, choosing targets and paying costs. Unit doesn't need to be in play anymore, since triggered effects exist independent of their source.
  • Resolve.

2. Comparing these 3 cards, how does the "leaves play" timing on Glorious Preceptor work?

Thief of Essence - Action: When one or more units leaves play, draw a card.

Dwarf Ranger - Forced: When one of your other [Dwarf] units leaves play, deal 1 damage to one target unit or capital.

Glorious Preceptor - Action: When this unit enters or leaves play, draw a card.

2b. Does Thief of Essence trigger when it (and other units) are killed by Troll Vomit?

3c. Does it trigger when it alone is killed by something?
 

Answers:

1. Yes.
1b. Its triggered as soon as its condition is met. The sequence is correct.
2. Glorious Preceptor can trigger after leaving play because it references "this card" (see new Leaving Play rules in FAQ). Dwarf Ranger doesn't trigger when dying because it doesn't explicitly reference itself (i.e. "this card" or "this unit").
2b. Thief of Essence doesn't  trigger when it and other units are killed by Troll Vomit, because it doesn't say "this card/unit"
2c. Thief of Essence doesn't trigger when it alone is killed.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sup y'all,

I don't mean to drag this up out of the depths again, but back at the start of this thread I suggested Plague Bomb would fizzle if one of the target units was removed from play in response to Plague Bomb. I think the exact action was a sacrifice, but I don't think that really matters. Anyway, people said that it wouldn't fizzle because as long as the targets are legal when paying for the card the action will go off. If some cards are now gone, well, too bad since legal targets existed once so the action is on its way over.

From the newest FAQ: Resolving a Card Effect (v1.7)
"When a card effect is resolved, conditional requirements and targets must be checked a second time (see “Targeting” on page 11). If there is an illegal target or an unfullfilled [sic] condition, then the effect is cancelled."

So, does this mean if I play Plague Bomb on units A, B, and C, and then unit A is returned to it's owner's hand by Called Back being played in response to Plague Bomb, then the Plague Bomb fizzles? I swear that this is how I read this rule... An illegal target would be out of play, no?

Text on Plague Bomb: "Action: Deal 1 damage to target unit. Deal 2 damage to another target unit. Deal 3 damage to a third target unit."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That section of the FAQ is clarifying cards that have a conditional effect.  It is not a new or revised rule with respect to plague bomb.  What I am saying is that your question was something that was debated a while back, because the rules have always said that you cancel an effect if its target is no longer valid at resolution.  The reason it doesn't completely cancel Plague Bomb is that each "Deal X damage" is a separate effect.  So you cancel the effect that targets the invalid target, but still execute as much of the action as you can.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Entropy42 said:

 

Got the answer to all this, and some of this stuff will also be obvious from FAQ 1.7, but I figured I'd lay it out in this thread anyway.

Questions:

1. If a card has a triggered action, and its trigger condition is met, but the card then leaves play before the next action window (and before that effect can be put on the chain), does that effect still go on the chain?
1b. Is a card considered "triggered" as soon as its trigger condition is met? Or as soon as it is put on the chain?
My understanding is as follows:

  • Trigger Event Happens
  • Player chooses whether or not they want to trigger the effect (since actions are optional). The unit must be in play at this step.
  • Action Window Opens
  • Player controlling that effect can choose to "activate" it and put it on the chain at this time, choosing targets and paying costs. Unit doesn't need to be in play anymore, since triggered effects exist independent of their source.
  • Resolve.

2. Comparing these 3 cards, how does the "leaves play" timing on Glorious Preceptor work?

Thief of Essence - Action: When one or more units leaves play, draw a card.

Dwarf Ranger - Forced: When one of your other [Dwarf] units leaves play, deal 1 damage to one target unit or capital.

Glorious Preceptor - Action: When this unit enters or leaves play, draw a card.

2b. Does Thief of Essence trigger when it (and other units) are killed by Troll Vomit?

3c. Does it trigger when it alone is killed by something?
 

Answers:

1. Yes.
1b. Its triggered as soon as its condition is met. The sequence is correct.
2. Glorious Preceptor can trigger after leaving play because it references "this card" (see new Leaving Play rules in FAQ). Dwarf Ranger doesn't trigger when dying because it doesn't explicitly reference itself (i.e. "this card" or "this unit").
2b. Thief of Essence doesn't  trigger when it and other units are killed by Troll Vomit, because it doesn't say "this card/unit"
2c. Thief of Essence doesn't trigger when it alone is killed.

 

 

 

 

Entropy and I have been discussing this with the devs, and the answer to 1. is now No, in accordance with the latest FAQ. The exception are self-referential abilities ("when this unit leaves play"), which can be put on the chain after the card has left play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...