Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
camryn.holmes.7

tides of battle situation/question

Recommended Posts

so we were playing this game

i attacked a territory with one unit and my opponent had one unit

we used the tides of battle option and i won and killed the unit with a sword icon

my opponents tides of battle card had a skull icon so my unit was destroyed as well

so what happens to the contested land?

can i establish control or does it become neutral again?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 You can never establish control unless you are marching your armies from a territory. If your opponent had established control of the embattled area his power token would be removed and the arera become neutral.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i disagree,

if you have and only if you have a power token in the region. you would still retain control as no other army is around to establish it for themselves.

if no units remained in the region it would revert to neutral.

i have a similar post regarding order tokens. feel free to check that out

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I based my answer on a question that was sent to FFG sounding like this :
 

Skull Icons on Tide of Battle Cards
If the final (victorious) attacking unit was removed by a skull icon on a tide of battle card, would it be treated the same way as the Arianne card (in that the attacker would have no units to occupy the area, but would still count as the winner, and would remove any order tokens or power icons from the embattled area)?

"This is correct. Even though the area is now completely empty, the winner still resolves all his effects as normal."

 

This question among many others were sent to FFG and can be found on this site : http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/752416/official-responses-from-ffg

 

This question is answered before the FAQ was published but having read the FAQ now it doesn't seem to me that anything there refutes this answer (although it is not directly answered there). I can only understand this in a way that the power token is removed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i dont use boradgamegeek forums for AGoT. that is what these forums were designed for.

 

Page 21 of the rulebook:

"4. Combat Clean Up
After combat is completed, remove the attacking player’s March
Order token from the game board.
If the combat was won by the attacker, remove any Order token the
defender had assigned to the embattled area (if one remains) as well
as any Power token in the area (which would exist if the defending
player had previously established control there, see page 24).
If the combat was won by the defender, the defending player’s
Power and Order tokens (if any) in the area are unaffected.
Both played House cards are discarded to their respective player’s
discard piles, and the “Resolve March Orders” step of the Action Phase
now continues."

IF the attacker didn't win, then no power token is removed. the defended retains control
The description of the OP is if the defender wins the combat.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 The question was what happenes to the embattled area if the attacker wins but loses all his units. The answer to that is that the attacker resolves battle as normal, for example removing an enemy order token if it existed on the land. Therefore the land would revert to neutral.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree: The attacker wins in this scenario, but is unable to control the embattled territory and cannot establish control using a power token (those can only be placed when leaving an already controlled territory).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...