Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
HappyDD

Using Volkar on yourself

Recommended Posts

Does Volkar work on the player controlling him? For example, if I kill/bounce my own unit (somehow) and I control Volkar, can I then put that unit on the bottom of my deck. Let's pretend for some reason I used "Called Back" on my own guy and wanted him on the bottom of my deck, let's pretend I didn't want to be milled and this was my only option. What is the timing, exactly? It sounds like it would go like this: I play Called Back. Opponent does not respond, so the action goes off and resolves. When do I get to play Volkar's action? It seems like I've missed the opportunity, since I can't really respond to my own action (right? RIGHT?!)

Something similar happened a couple of weeks ago. Someone played a tactic and wanted to cancel their own tactic, just to get 2 spells in the discard pile (I think they were playing a version of Mamut's Star Dragon deck that he posted). Anyway, I told them that you cannot cancel your own tactic because in the window that opens after playing the tactic, if the opponent passes, you resolve the tactic. I can't think of a way to cancel your own tactic, so I can't think of a way to play Volkar on yourself either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, first, Volkmar's ability is not an action, it is a constant effect that triggers when a unit would enter a discard pile. So in your action chain, if a unit is destroyed/bounced, then Volkmar's constant effect interrupts the chain to trigger itself. You don't need an action window for him.

If you play a tactic and your opponent passes, you can still play other actions. When you play an action, your opponent has the priority to play something in response, and if he plays something, you have the priority to respond etc...

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow, okay, you're totally right about Volkmar, I didn't even realize there wasn't an "Action:" before his effect text. Thanks for that.

So you're saying that you CAN respond to your own stuff? I recall a discussion somewhere else on these boards (under the triggering quest actions question I asked a while back, I think) where Entropy flat-out said you can't, but I'm not sure I remember the context. If an opponent doesn't respond, I thought the action succeeds? Is this not the case?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you play a card

opponent has opportunity to respond and passes

you then have the opportunity for another action and take it

opponent then has an opportunity to respond and passes

you then have another opportunity to take an action...

and round and round until both sides no longer have an action to play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I apologize if my previous responses made you think that you can't respond to your own actions.  In the thread you are thinking of, my point was that you do not have FIRST priority to respond to your own actions. 

Volkar's text is a constant replacement effect, so it never "triggers".  It just puts the card on the bottom whenever it would go to your hand or discard pile.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So you can respond to your own stuff if your opponent passes? This is blowing my mind... So I guess your actions take place when both people stop responding to them? So I can just stack up as many responses as I care to? I can't think of an example, but that allows for a situation where I can just keep stacking actions? I guess so... Just sounds weird to me, I guess.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, you can respond to your own stuff.  And no effects resolve until both players have passed consecutively.  Pretty sure those are both listed pretty plainly in the base rules (though I admit its been a while since I read the base rules).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use this thread to ask for a question.

Just a little doubt on Volkmar, you can put a unit on the bottom of a deck in 2 cases.

As there is no punctuation, it's hard to know if the from play is also effective when a unit enter it's owner discard pile or not

So my question is : Should the first volkmar condition should be read as :


When a unit enter it's owner discard pile (no matter from where the unit comes)
or

When a unit enter it's owner discard pile from play

 

Volkmar :

If a unit would enter its owner’s discard pile or return to its owner’s hand from play, you may instead put it on the bottom of its owner’s deck.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Doc9 said:

you play a card

opponent has opportunity to respond and passes

you then have the opportunity for another action and take it

opponent then has an opportunity to respond and passes

you then have another opportunity to take an action...

and round and round until both sides no longer have an action to play.

I think that Active player have the first opportunity to respond or passes

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...