Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Roxas_Lawliet

Comprehensive FAQ project

88 posts in this topic

Cliffs
Q: If friendly units are adjacent but separated by the edge of a cliff, do they still support each other?
A: Yes, unit in an adjacent hex still support each other.

Q: If an enemy unit is adjacent to an ordered unit on a cliff, may the ordered unit target a more distant enemy unit within range since it can't engage in melee?
A: No it can't.

 

Shouldn't it be the other way around, it's a bit strange like this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Snak said:

Cliffs don't change anything about rules which imply adjacent units. So they all remain the same.

 

Yeah, but it's strange and a bit unlogical.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any word on progress towards getting a "living" FAQ back up and running?  Continuing the Lore and Creature Compendiums?

There are some rulings on the existing remnants from DoW's versions that need cleaning up, as well as plenty of new questions from newer players (and some that I would consider "older" by now gran_risa.gif ).  For example, in the entry for Evade it is ruled that a reaction card can be played during ones turn (the correct ruling), but then in the entry for First Strike it states that a reaction card cannot be played during ones own turn.  I am still not sure if First Strike/Ambush can be played to counter Ambush/First Strike.  A sticky sort of situation that the Compendiums are adept at handling (when answered clearly ;) ).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caboose said:

Scenario sequence steps - Posted by ColtsFan (updated using latest steps from May 2008 post)

It could be more clear, but this is the way I read it.

Page 8-9 is the basic, no-lore set-up.

0. Select the scenario
1. Place the board
2. Place terrain
3. Place supplimental markers/terrain- the landmarks in this step are ONLY the one called out in the scenario set-up "specially denoted"
4. Place figures
5. Pass out summary cards
6. Shuffle & Deal Command cards.
7. Read the scenario notes / set unused Command cards next to the board
8. First player starts the game.

The rules are modified as such when Lore masters are used (po. 47-48. This is assumed since it is not clear:
4.5. Place War Council (I am using the number 4.5 to be consistent with CtA Organized)
6.1. Shuffle & deal Lore cards
6.2. Take Lore Token(s)
7.1. Shuffle discarded Lore cards into unused Lore cards and set next to the board

Page 58 and 65 seem to add the additional steps (Again assumed numbering):
0.1. Determine the number of Lore Council Levels to be used
7.9. Place Landmarks for Level 3 Lore Masters

Epic adds that card are to be placed in the Epic Rack before the 1st players turn. Since all other cards are out at this point, I assume this should also happen before Landmarks are placed, so I will call this step 7.2.

(everything in italics is an assumed step) I am placing "Place Landmarks" as step 7.9 because it is to happen at the start of the game. The start of the game, based on p. 9, is step 8.

So to answer your original question, it seems to me that all cards are dealt first before Level 3 Loremaster landmarks are placed.

The revised set up should be this:
0. Select Scenario / type of game (normal; CtA = Call to Arms [impromptu or Organized]; Epic; RA = Reluctant Allies)
0.1. Determine number of Lore master levels if applicable
1. Place the board
2. Place terrain
3. Place supplimental markers/terrain
4. Place figures (if a standard game)
4.1 Select order of battle (if playing CtA - or skip to step 4.5)
4.1.1 Deploy Scout Guard (if using Epic and CtA / N/A in RA)
4.2 Deploy Guards
4.3 Scout Ahead (N/A in RA)
4.4 Call the Reserve (N/A in RA)
4.5 Call the War Council (in normal games or impromptu CtA, go to step 5)
4.6 Call the Specialist (if playing organized CtA)
5. Pass out summary cards
6. Shuffle & Deal Command cards
6.1. Shuffle & deal Lore cards
6.2. Take Lore Token(s)
7. Read the scenario notes / set unused Command cards next to the board
7.1. Shuffle discarded Lore cards into unused Lore cards and set next to the board
7.2 Set-up Epic Command Rack (if playing Epic)
7.9. Place Landmarks for Level 3 Lore Masters
8. First player starts the game

 

I've been palying games(war games) since the 1955. and all that reading and structuring is too **** difficult. that has been my expereance. usually someone reads the rulls and explainees it to the mates. show and telling.

today we have YOUTUBE And to do that you only need a mike and a webcam than you do it section by section just like in the rules and keep the webcam on the minis , dice , or what ever is being expalined. keep the sections short. 2 to 4 mins top and the palyers can listed to the rules being expained, see thee roll( you can turn and play the symbol showign which ever side wis what you are explaining) how unis are moves . if anything is forgoten then the palyers can go back and look at the section again.

This way is chea , it is like having  a friend over that  shows you the rules step by step anytime you need him, where every you may live. day or night.

 

Layout the  YOUTUBE sections  in the sequence you like , something along the lines

 

Battlelore 0101 what in the box?

Battlelore 0102 .... etc

 

the lads can find the rules and will be palying and enjoying is no time.  I know you guys a real smart and can get this up and running in notime!

I mean that.

 

cheers

M

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

toddrew said:

Any word on progress towards getting a "living" FAQ back up and running?  Continuing the Lore and Creature Compendiums?

There are some rulings on the existing remnants from DoW's versions that need cleaning up, as well as plenty of new questions from newer players (and some that I would consider "older" by now gran_risa.gif ).  For example, in the entry for Evade it is ruled that a reaction card can be played during ones turn (the correct ruling), but then in the entry for First Strike it states that a reaction card cannot be played during ones own turn.  I am still not sure if First Strike/Ambush can be played to counter Ambush/First Strike.  A sticky sort of situation that the Compendiums are adept at handling (when answered clearly ;) ).

 

Use YOUTUBE here also so all the mates can have their friend there to show and expain the rules to them.  maybe with an introduction of the BL from the Master Himself

 

cheers

M

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi everyone, I'm new to Battlelore and I have two quick questions.

 

1. When an Enemy Unit Battles back against my Bold attacking unit does my unit get to ignore the first flag.

 

2. Can creatures do follow on actions and do they battle back?

 

Thanks for the help guys.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

fishstix said:

Hi everyone, I'm new to Battlelore and I have two quick questions.

 

1. When an Enemy Unit Battles back against my Bold attacking unit does my unit get to ignore the first flag.

Yes, they do.  Bold affects units anytime they are on the receiving end of an attack roll, be it during a unit's initial battle or on the battle back.

 

"2. Can creatures do follow on actions and do they battle back?"

Unless there are special rules for the particular creature to the otherwise, they do battle back and perform follow on actions as other units do.  So far, none of the creatures operate as mounted units do in their follow on actions - the creatures may only gain ground, not make a pursuit action nor bonus attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question regarding dragons

1.  Is it possible to do a breath attack and a regular melee attack in the same turn?

2.  When playing with heroes it says any artifacts gained during the adventure don't count towards your maximum of two equipped artifacts.  Does that mean it would become a third equipped artifact?  Can you give an example of how this could take place and what it would look like.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

bryceandcallie, I was hoping someone else would take this one, as I really haven't had much opportunity to play with either of these expansions.  However:

1) I guess it isn't really that explicit in the rules, but yes, the dragon performs the breath attack during the movement phase, then is also able to battle during the combat phase.

2) Really not sure about this one, I will read up later and take a stab at it.

I will also take the opportunity to use this post as my quarterly shout into the void:

Any word on FFG putting up a FAQ or carrying on the Lore and Creatures Compendiums?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Think I'll disagree on number one.  The unit card for each dragon says "Movement: Up to 2 hexes and battle, or fly 2 to 4 hexes and use its breath attack."  It would seem to suggest that the two actions are mutually exclusive of each other.

On the second point, the only way to gain an artifact during a battle is for treasure to be included as part of the scenario.  Most of the scenarios included with heroes have one or more treasure tokes placed at specific hexes on the map.  The hero can search for treasure instead of battling if he is on one of the hexes with a token.  If the token has an artifact icon on it, the hero draws the specified number of cards from the artifact deck.  He may equip these for the duration of the battle even if they exceed the normal 2 equipped artifacts limit.  However, the limit of 6 artifacts owned by the hero must still be observed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Nematode :)  What I couldn't offer in knowledge, I did provide in prodding gran_risa.gif

I've finally procured the means to purchase Heroes and Dragons, so after this weekend the challange will be to find people to play with, instead of wonder what is written on all those cards ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question are this increase coming bake in reprint

 

battlelore:dwarven battalion expansion

battlelore:goblin maraudes expansion

 

coming in repint back agin

 

whit greetings

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good question :)

I don't know at this point if those expansions are being dropped, added to different expansions, replaced by different expansions, added to the base game (highly unlikely), or something altogether different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

-New Topic-

I wanted to know if the Giant Spider is similiar to a mounted unit in that it may perform a persuit and bonus attack since its movement speed is similiar to mounted units. My tendancy is to believe that it is treated like other creatures in that it does not get to perform these follow-on actions. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your tendencies are correct :)  To date, no creature is able to make a pursuit follow-on action without the aid of the Warrior's Bonus Attack Lore Card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick Question:

 

Heroes:

Do a Leader's Skills effect the normal rules governing Units?

ie: I have a Rogue hero with the Path Finder skill (S-016), this skill allows my Rogue hero to move an additional hex and ignore terrain restrictions... If the hero is acting as a Champion the rules seem fairly clear, if the hero is acting as a Leader, does the unit he is with gain the +1 hex and ignore terrain restrictions bonus?

 

Cheers,

Giles.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You probably found out by now but the answer is yes, when the skill card says Hero or Leader.

Use of Artifact cards was explained clearly in the rules but skill cards weren't so much.  Richard Borg was kind enough to clear up the matter of skill cards to apply them the same as artifact cards.

Look for "Skill and Artifact Cards Quick Review" by Richard.  I found it in the forum under the topic "Heroes in Battle-Leaders" currently on pg. 13 of BattleLore topics.

That Rogue there then can lead those boys quickly through any terrain which is pretty awesome!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is the Hero card guide from Richard Borg:

 

BattleLore

Skill and Artifact Cards Quick Review!

Hero Class Skill Cards

When a Hero Class Skill Card refers to the Character by class followed by the word “Hero”, the Skill card effect works when the Hero is acting as Leader or when the Hero is acting as a Champion.

When a Hero Class Skill Card refers to the Character by class followed by the word “Champion”, the Skill card effect only works when the Hero is acting as a Champion.

When a Hero Class Skill Card refers to the Character by class followed by the word “Leader”, the Skill card effect only works when the Hero is acting as Leader.

All Field Commander Skill cards have Field Commander Hero, except “Riding” which reads Field Commander Champion.

All Warrior Skill Cards have Warrior Hero, except “Hack-and Slash” and “Riding” which read Warrior Champion.

All Rogue Skill Cards have Rogue Hero, except “Riding” which reads Rogue Champion.

Some Cleric Skill Cards have Cleric Hero, except “Herbal Remedy” which reads Cleric Leader, “Pray for the Dying’ which should have the word Hero following Cleric (sorry about this), “Healing Hands” and “Riding” which read Cleric Champion.

Non-Class Specific Skill Cards

When a Non-Class specific Skill Card has the word “Hero”, the Skill card effect works when the Hero is acting as Leader or when the Hero is acting as a Champion. All Non-Class specific Skill Cards have the word Hero, except “Horse Vaulter”.

When a Non-Class specific Skill Card has the word “Champion”, the Skill card effect only works when the Hero is acting as a Champion. Currently no Non-Class specific Skill Card has the word Champion.

When a Non-Class specific Skill Card has the word “Leader”, the Skill card effect only works when the Hero is acting as a Leader. “Horse Vaulter” has the word “Leader”, the Skill card effect only works when the Hero is acting as a Leader.

 

 

Artifact Card Use

Artifact card use is explained in the Heroes rules booklet on page 9. There are three card examples:

Any Hero can use an Artifact card with a green symbol. The green symbol on this card is circled in red.

Artifact cards that have a yellow symbol can only be used by a Hero that is acting as a Champion. The yellow symbol on this card is circled in red.

Artifact cards that have a blue symbol can only be used by a Hero that is acting as a Leader. The blue symbol on this card is circled in red.

Enjoy!

Richard Borg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 A question about the Heroes Expansion

 

The Cleric's Chant Skill reads, "Enemy units attacking your Cleric Hero roll 1 less battle dice in melee. This skill may not be used when an enemy is battling back. Use before battle dice are rolled."

The Cleric's Herbal Remedy Skill reads. "Your Cleric Leader's troop may ignore 1 hit in melee combat. this skill can only be used once during a melee combat dice roll. Use after battle dice are rolled."

To me, this indicates that the Chant Skill can be used more than once if the Lore cost is paid. Meaning, if I had enough lore, reduce my opponent's hand of dice down to 0 by reusing the skill multiple times before a dice roll. Is this the intent of the skill, or merely  an oversight?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And I have another:

If a Leader's skills and artifacts contribute to his units' attributes, does that mean that a unit comprising a Leader and a green banner archer unit would hit on sword on shield in melee (clearly not for ranged)?

I assume the intention is not, but clearly such a unit would hit on lore if the leader does (e.g. wizard with ball lightning), and I was wondering if the same applies to SoS?

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Perhaps we'll see more or get a clearer picture when and if FFG release a second base set or pronounce the game dead.

 

Cheers,

Giles.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0