Sign in to follow this  
Sturn

NOOB CAMPAIGN BEGINS! Noob GM and Noob Players Give 3e a Try

First post after finally starting a campaign with lots of preparation and questions answered by the folks here. This first post describes the campaign. My next post will describe the first session and so on.

GROUP OVERVIEW

GM: Veteran GM, but complete noob to Warhammer and 3e.
Players: Only 2 family members, nephew and wife. Both have dabbled in RPGs, but are not veterans at all.
Campaign Style: Want to include the grim aspects of Warhammer leaving out the sometimes comical influences. Realistic, grim, fantasy. I've always run very pre-planned but very sandbox campaign. As in I do lots of planning before an adventure, but have fun watching as it derails and tells its own story.

CAMPAIGN

The campaign will evolve around two characters unraveling the plans of a secretive Cult of Nurgle while avenging their lost loved ones and revealing secrets of their own past. This will occur primarily between the urban setting of Altdorf and a very rural setting of the nearby Hagercrybs hills.
The players each created excellent backgrounds using the step-by-step process in 3e character creation. I was able to meld what they came up with into a reason for them meeting. Eventually they will discover they have a common, sinister enemy which directly caused the dark events described in their backgrounds.

My next post will include an introduction to one of the player characters and description of a first, solo introductory session.

Sounds great, I admire "loving attention to detail" which it sounds like this is getting.  I first feared that a no-resurrection game would mean no longer term character story but the "cripple and torment more than kill" effects of rules has dispelled that - and a family based game means you don't have to worry about losing a player who gets a job in a different city!

Please keep posting.