Sign in to follow this  
jpomz

Why all the ascension hate?

I'm new to the system and just got the book and i don't see whats wrong with it yet. Can someone elaborate? Sorry if its very obvious I'm still new to DH.

People are never happy?

I mean, they complained because DH characters were too weak, so then they went and made Ascension and now everyone hates that. Personally I don't get it. I really like Ascension. It's not flawless (Ascended Psychic Power thresholds are way too low, the Vindicare is invincible, etc.) but it's certainly not bad by any stretch of the imagination.

Better yet it's not an essential book - it's an expansion for Dark Heresy that takes it beyond the standard boundaries of the regular game (much like the Grey Knight career in Daemon Hunter). I don't see anything wrong with expanding the game. If you don't want that part of the game, you don't play that part of the game. Simple.

BYE

There a quite a few reasons.  It shoehorns existing characters into the new classes, but many of the original translate poorly into ascension.  There are numerous loopholes and abuses, specifically with the Vindicare and Primaris.  Vast portions of the skills charts are rehashed skills or influences, considering a lot of classes have to pay a ton for fellowship it feels forced.  My game died at 8th level because too many of the characters didn't have epic level equivalents that would have continued the character in the same vein.

My view is that Ascension is a radical shift in tone and game play that most people don't quite grasp. Ascension takes DH into the realm of Rogue Trader. Free form galactic conflict and political maneuvering is at Ascensions core. It has it's flaws, but those can be dealt with.