Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Advosan

Scoring omens with the Toika Heavy MG

10 posts in this topic

What happens if you score an omen with the Toika? 

Plus, since the Toika is an equippement card, do I need to spend an order card to activate it?

Does Damon Bard need to  also spend a card to activate the Toika?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Advosan said:

What happens if you score an omen with the Toika? 

Plus, since the Toika is an equippement card, do I need to spend an order card to activate it?

Does Damon Bard need to  also spend a card to activate the Toika?

#1: Since nothing is mentioned, I'd say nothing.

#2: Yes.

#3: Baird can pickup or activate special abilities of tiles for free so I guess not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules specified that you must discard a card to resolve the order card, and discard a card for each special action (picking up dropped weapon, reviving a downed cog and activating a map equipment).

My question is, if you start your turn at a troika MG and spent a card to fire the troika (discard a card for special action), do you still have to discard the mandatory order card?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules specified that you must discard a card to resolve the order card, and discard a card for each special action (picking up dropped weapon, reviving a downed cog and activating a map equipment).

My question is, if you start your turn at a troika MG and spent a card to fire the troika (discard a card for special action), do you still have to discard the mandatory order card?

Since activating Troika is a special action, you still have to play one mandatory order card, even if you skip the action of the order card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, it's the only rules wise logical move. But slightly thematically flawed.

If I'm firing a machine gun, why would I fire a couple pot shot with my rifle rather than fire the machine gun on full auto?

Thanks for the clarification anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You don't play an Order card the turn you use Toika Heavy MG. Last sentence on 16B card reads:

 

"You do not play an Order card this turn."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ps: your avatar... makes everything you said seems angry. Hahaha...

 

That's actually the point of it. Before the most recent change, had this grumpy looking wizard avatar, but Theodred works equally well in conveying my feelings whenever I make a post answering a rules question for which the answer could've been found in 10 seconds in the rulebook/FAQ  ;) .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You don't play an Order card the turn you use Toika Heavy MG. Last sentence on 16B card reads:

 

"You do not play an Order card this turn."

I stand corrected.  When I answered the question above, I did not have the cards in front of me; instead I just relied on the information given by the posters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Same here, if you look at my first reply to this thread, I too said "yes" for having to play another Order card. Should have remembered to check the card  :unsure:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0