Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Illpalazzo

Dragon Rage Multiple Players

5 posts in this topic

 Seems like a minor question, but ran into an argument about the interpretation of this rule.  In the scenario when multiple heroes are in the treasure room when the Dragon Rage is drawn, the question we ran into was whether each hero in the treasure room rolled their own damage triggered by the Dragon Rage card.  

 

The card read for the player that drew the card:  You discard all treasure cards. You roll 2 dice and take that much damage.  All heroes in the treasure room suffer the same consequences. 

 

My interpretation was each player in the room rolled 2 dice and got different damage values. 

 

The other side of the argument was any other player in the room should take the same amount of damage as player who drawn the card.

 

We opted for my interpretation (since I bought the game) and immediately ran into the worst case scenario, where the player who drew the card took 3 damage and lived while the person who also happened to be in the room took 11 damage and died.  In these kind of games where survival is the theme, I generally go for the interpretation that is worse for the players.  Both interpretations have the potential of inflicting the more damage to all players.  But to avoid arguments like this in the future, I was curious if other people ran into this problem or if there was a rule somewhere I missed that clarified this issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well think of it in these terms. Everybody is in the chamber you roll two dice, say for example a 3 and a 7. The dragon will then attack with a power of 10 hit points. He supposedly attacks with fire, according to the artwork, i'm assuming thats his attack method. So whoever is in the path of the flames will all suffer the same amount of damage. So only one roll would make sense to me. Anyway thats how I play it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're assuming that everyone is in the same "path" ... in other words they've clumped together, making them an easy single target. Doesn't make sense for a bunch greedy grubbers all searching separately form the most valuable find.  If and when we play, and this occurs, its always a separate roll starting with the one who trigger Rage and then in player order for those in the chamber.

If it's a big dragon, one of the biggest known, then it's a big chamber.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

JCHendee said:

You're assuming that everyone is in the same "path" ... in other words they've clumped together, making them an easy single target. Doesn't make sense for a bunch greedy grubbers all searching separately form the most valuable find.  If and when we play, and this occurs, its always a separate roll starting with the one who trigger Rage and then in player order for those in the chamber.

If it's a big dragon, one of the biggest known, then it's a big chamber.

Check  Rulebook page 14, chapter "Two or more Heroes in the Treasure Chamber"

When Kalladra wakes up, all Heroes in the Treasure Chamber immediately suffer the consequences of “Dragon Rage” as described before, starting with the player who drew the “Dragon Rage” card and proceeding clockwise around the table to the other players in the Treasure Chamber. After this event has been dealt with, the game carries on with the normal turn order.

I believe that every Hero has to deal separately with the Dragon Rage (= roll the dice for himself), otherwise the statement highlighted in bold won't make any sense.

JCHendee gave an acceptable explanation for this rule and described a realistic situation. One roll for everybody would represent a time-bomb trap better than a Dragon Rage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The answer is also in the card itself: "You discard all treasure cards. You roll 2 dice and take that much damage. All heroes in the treasure room suffer the same consequences."

The "consequences" are what is listed on the card... not the "results" generated by the player who drew the card, since those results are not what is on the card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0