Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Triple A

Question on Path of Destiny spell

Recommended Posts

In our weekend game, my Druid was on the Crown of Command, gleefully zapping the other players.

I got hit with the Path of Destiny spell, forcing me to draw a Warlock's Quest, the successful completion of which would send me off the CoC and back to the Warlock's Cave.

We knew that certain Quests (such as give up gold, objects etc) would be valid, but that other Quests requiring me to move away from the CoC would not.

The Quest I pulled was "miss 2 turns".  Since I could do this without physically moving, I missed 2 turns, completed my Quest, and got teleported back to the Warlock's Cave.  

Was this correct?

 


 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Triple "A" said:

In our weekend game, my Druid was on the Crown of Command, gleefully zapping the other players.

I got hit with the Path of Destiny spell, forcing me to draw a Warlock's Quest, the successful completion of which would send me off the CoC and back to the Warlock's Cave.

We knew that certain Quests (such as give up gold, objects etc) would be valid, but that other Quests requiring me to move away from the CoC would not.

The Quest I pulled was "miss 2 turns".  Since I could do this without physically moving, I missed 2 turns, completed my Quest, and got teleported back to the Warlock's Cave.  

Was this correct?

Sounds right. PoD is another anti-Crown weapon that there are too few of IMO. Transference is another.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

but in other posts regarding quests, it was said, that a player does not have to finish a quest if he does not want to..

to my understanding, that means that if you draw "miss 2 turns", you do not have to do the quest if you dont want to, and thus, not be teleported back.. no?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It kinda depends. If you have the means at your disposal (like Object, Follower, Gold, etc.) and get a quest to discard some, if you have enough to discard, you MUST discard. Same goes for missing turns. If you have to travel to somewhere, you are not forced to move toward that space or if you have to give up say 1 Fate and get an encounter that allows you to choose to gain 1 something, you don't have to pick Fate to then discard and complete the quest. Once you're on the Inner Region, getting a quest to kill an Enemy also doesn't do anything and you don't have to go hunting for one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, it is "If you have the means you have to complete" this is a great tactic to send someone out of the inner region or even the coc :). Mind you you have to draw a quest that has a cost that the character has to pay right away.. The mss two turns one is neat but because there is no way of looking at the Quest pile (cough, as yet :)) its totally random.. Oh unless you play by the "pick your quest" rules.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We actually just had this very same scenario come up (but with the Dragon Tower) and after talking about it, we ended up playing the way you did.  However, I was wondering if there is anything in the game mechanics that allows a player to "voluntarily" lose a turn.  If there isn't then, I don't think the character in the CoC would need to fulfil the quest.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oboewan said:

We actually just had this very same scenario come up (but with the Dragon Tower) and after talking about it, we ended up playing the way you did.  However, I was wondering if there is anything in the game mechanics that allows a player to "voluntarily" lose a turn.  If there isn't then, I don't think the character in the CoC would need to fulfil the quest.

Well folks.. .please ignore the above.. the text of the Quest has been pointed out to me as being "Lose your next 2 turns" in which case all is well with the universe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...