Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
cchopman

Question between "During this round" and "During the next round" in Event card?

Recommended Posts

When we played the Runewar Scenarios, we confused  "During this round" with "During the next round" in some instant Event cards, such as:

Rally Forces: When a player gains units during this round, he may place those cards into his hand (instead of his discard pile).

Blood Fury: Immediately wound all units that are played in combat during the next round.

Restless Warriors: During the next round, deal 4 damage to each player’s Home Realm at the end of his turn unless he won at least 1 siege as the attacker.

A Time for War: When a player attacks a Home Realm during this round, add 2 to his total combat strength.

 

What is the timing difference between "During this round" and "Durng the next round"?

 

Thanks for reply...happy.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

cchopman said:

When we played the Runewar Scenarios, we confused  "During this round" with "During the next round" in some instant Event cards, such as:

Rally Forces: When a player gains units during this round, he may place those cards into his hand (instead of his discard pile).

Blood Fury: Immediately wound all units that are played in combat during the next round.

Restless Warriors: During the next round, deal 4 damage to each player’s Home Realm at the end of his turn unless he won at least 1 siege as the attacker.

A Time for War: When a player attacks a Home Realm during this round, add 2 to his total combat strength.

 

What is the timing difference between "During this round" and "Durng the next round"?

 

Thanks for reply...happy.gif

 

Good catch cchopman. Honestly, I never noticed that before and I played all those Event cards as if they were "During this round" cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the rule book says: "After each player has taken his turn for the round, the first player draws the top card from the Event deck…"

So I think that the event phase is considered the first part of the round and the back of the rulebook has a mistake.

I prefer to think that the back of the rulebook has a mistake than a lot of cards has a mistake…

If some cards says "during this round" and other says: "during the next round" will be to diferentiate them dont you think so?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's still ambiguous because "After each player has taken his turn for the round" could imply that the round is over, or it could imply that all players are finished taking turns and the event phase is beginning before the new round. I'm inclined to believe the cards are just slopily written.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seriously? There are a few cards that put "during the next turn" … more than an oversight would seem a serious error. I think that if the cards says that, it should be correct so it would be absurd to use them at the same time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just got an official response:

--

Hello Budgernaut,

Your interpretation is correct. In the base game, any Event cards for the Runewars scenario with the text "during this round" should be treated as having the text "during the next round."

Thanks for playing!

James Kniffen
Associate Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
jkniffen@fantasyflightgames.com

--

Fortunately, there are only two cards that say "during this round": Rally Forces and A Time For War.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

IMHO the best idea for second expansion to Rune Age after this one, could be a "scenario pack" with for example 6 new scenarios (about 250 cards total). Nice idea can be also 4 news scenarios and 1, maybe 2 new tactic/spell card for each race to buy it from barracks or some special bouilding played as stronghold but with higher cost and some ability working like runes or rewards ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...