Sign in to follow this  
Haroon

The Book Of Horus

I am a novice GM at best and I am not a very good writer but I have an idea for an adventure seed for an upcoming campaign I am working on, what do you guys think.

I was reading rites of battle and on page and on page 249 It lists artifacts of the omega vault. What really caught my eye was “The Truth” in which “The Omega vault opens to reveal a deep and terrible truth about the imperium of man itself.  It might be a shattering revelation dating back to the very birth of the imperium...”  So I started to think what is the biggest earth shattering revelation I could come up with which lead me to the Book of Horus.

This is a rough draft which hasn’t been fully flushed out.

The Omega vault opens to reveal a book entitled The Book of Horus.  This takes place before the Horus Heresy.  The book of Horus reveals that the Emperor has determined that Humanity relies on him too much and is using him as a crutch.  He understands that only through his death can humanity be strengthened and reforged in the ultimate crucible.  The Emperor turns to Horus his most trusted and beloved son and asks of him the impossible, he asks him to betray him.  He asks Horus to raise an army equal to humanity’s might and slay him.  In doing so would ignite a war which would last millennia but in the end mankind would reach its true destiny, the greatest would rise to the top with out the crutch of the Emperor.  Only in this way can mankind hope to endure.  Horus's fierce loyalty obligated him to agree but he asked one condition, that he would die with his father as he could not bear the guilt.

Having found out this secret the players would have to decide what to do with this information for the consequences of widespread knowledge of this secret may be more dire than the actual Horus Heresy.