Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Rogzor

Confused with character creation and EXP spending for the Chaos Gods

Recommended Posts

Sorry I am very new to this and couldn't really figure it out.

I am making a Renegade as my character and I want to follow the god Nurgle. I am looking to use my exp to purchase traits/skills/characteristics. Which "Price" am I to use?

Like I want to purchase Toughness(Twice), Iron Jaw, and Disturbing voice. Now what price should I be doing this at? Allied/Opposed/True and is that for "every" purchase?

Thank You
~Rogzor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last question. Saw it in another thread but didn't quite understand it.

How do you purchase weapons/equipment/armour that doesn't total the number of your infamy(I think thats how it is worded) but also doesn't total more then -10 aquisition? I don't see costs for items and such to be able to figure it out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i think he is refering to the starting equipment bit in which case as long as the total modifier is not more than -10 to the roll it is an outo aquisition

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MILLANDSON said:

 

You roll for stuff using Infamy, there are no "prices", or getting things "below your Infamy". Where did you read that, because there's nothing about it in the rules.

 

 

When you create a character you can get extra equipment. You can't have more equipment then your Infamy(at the time of character creation) and it can't total more then -10 aqcuisition. I don't understand the total more then -10 aquisition part.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rogzor said:

When you create a character you can get extra equipment. You can't have more equipment then your Infamy(at the time of character creation) and it can't total more then -10 aqcuisition. I don't understand the total more then -10 aquisition part.

Right, you get a number of 'free' acquisitions at character creation equal to your Infamy Bonus (typically 2 - it's rare to have a starting character with a starting Infamy Bonus higher than 2, simply because it would require that the character had increased his starting Infamy to greater than 30 - unlikely - and you can't start with less than 20)

Those acquisitions can have a total modifier of no worse than -10. This is the same modifier you'd determine when trying to acquire an item normally using Infamy, but without the actual Infamy Test. The way to determine this modifier is explained on page 306 of the rulebook, specifically Table 9-11: Acquisition Test Modifiers.

In summary, this means that each 'free' acquisition at the start can obtain a single Scarce item or 2-4 Average items of Best craftsmanship, a single Rare item or 2-4 Scarce items of Good craftsmanship, a single Very Rare item or 2-4 Rare items of Common craftsmanship, or a single Extremely Rare item or 2-4 Rare items of Poor craftsmanship. There are other combinations of availability, quantity and craftsmanship, but how many people are honestly going to want over a thousand cups of recaf as a starting acquisition?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

N0-1_H3r3 said:

Rogzor said:

 

There are other combinations of availability, quantity and craftsmanship, but how many people are honestly going to want over a thousand cups of recaf as a starting acquisition?

If a player did actually do that though, I think I would grant him the Light Sleeper talent for free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

N0-1_H3r3 said:

Rogzor said:

 

When you create a character you can get extra equipment. You can't have more equipment then your Infamy(at the time of character creation) and it can't total more then -10 aqcuisition. I don't understand the total more then -10 aquisition part.

 

 

Right, you get a number of 'free' acquisitions at character creation equal to your Infamy Bonus (typically 2 - it's rare to have a starting character with a starting Infamy Bonus higher than 2, simply because it would require that the character had increased his starting Infamy to greater than 30 - unlikely - and you can't start with less than 20)

Those acquisitions can have a total modifier of no worse than -10. This is the same modifier you'd determine when trying to acquire an item normally using Infamy, but without the actual Infamy Test. The way to determine this modifier is explained on page 306 of the rulebook, specifically Table 9-11: Acquisition Test Modifiers.

In summary, this means that each 'free' acquisition at the start can obtain a single Scarce item or 2-4 Average items of Best craftsmanship, a single Rare item or 2-4 Scarce items of Good craftsmanship, a single Very Rare item or 2-4 Rare items of Common craftsmanship, or a single Extremely Rare item or 2-4 Rare items of Poor craftsmanship. There are other combinations of availability, quantity and craftsmanship, but how many people are honestly going to want over a thousand cups of recaf as a starting acquisition?

The way myself and my group of players have understood the way this works just like it says on the table chart.

you get 2 items according to starting to starting infamy bonus. (as this variation has been discussed im using 2 as the normal example).

you decide you want something that is at the -10 modifier, if they are 2 different items then yea you can wind up with 2 pieces of extra wargear/weps/whatever as long as it works fits on the chart.

the way around this is that if you are rolling for a human power first at very rare (-20) (as if one isnt enough right?)

quantity is one so you get a +10 to this aquisition test, and good craftsmanship is a +0.........BAM!   you can roll out with two very rare items starting out of the gate. and this is not including anything like prides etc that modify this further...

but this allows the players a little more variety than what they are sometimes offered and lets them put some pride into the fact that they got a _________ and its aaaaaaaall theirs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...