Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Yerazald

Several question SoB and RtL

Recommended Posts

Just a few specific questions about interpreting rules, hope you can anwsers those as usual. Many thanks in advance.

 

1- When can you use the crystal of Tival? At any time after equiped, but can you do it before receiving dmg from a trap or a monster attack?

 

2- SoB, In island levels map, there is picture of scrub like described in the book. Does the penality for ranged and magic attack apply? If so, it will become really difficult for those attack to hit.

 

3- RtL, box canion encounter map, it says the overlord take his turn first. Does it apply to Lieutenants encounter as well?

 

4- Trapmaster and the bonus from the spiderqueen, does the bonus damages apply and are done to a hero if he rolled a blank on a pit trap?

 

5- RtL and SoB, During encounter, it is said that the overlord take a number of threat tokens equals to the number of heroes. Does that means the numbers of living or remaining heroes or it sticks to 4?

 

Thanks again!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yerazald said:

 

 

1- When can you use the crystal of Tival? At any time after equiped, but can you do it before receiving dmg from a trap or a monster attack?

 

 

I can never remember the general consensus on this one, but I believe the common opinion is that you must use Crystal of Tival (and other items of this ilk) immediately after completing the free equip at the start of your turn.  Basically you're forced to either play the turn with an open Other slot or pay 2 MP for a second equip after your turn has started as part of the cost of using the item.

Yerazald said:

 

2- SoB, In island levels map, there is picture of scrub like described in the book. Does the penality for ranged and magic attack apply? If so, it will become really difficult for those attack to hit.

 

 

Yes, the penalty imposed by scrub applies to each space depicted as containing scrub on the map.  What else would it be there for?

Yerazald said:

 

3- RtL, box canion encounter map, it says the overlord take his turn first. Does it apply to Lieutenants encounter as well?

 

 

Yes.  An LT encounter is just a special kind of encounter.  It doesn't ignore any of the normal encounter rules, it just adds more for the LT being there.

Yerazald said:

 

4- Trapmaster and the bonus from the spiderqueen, does the bonus damages apply and are done to a hero if he rolled a blank on a pit trap?

 

 

No.  Generally speaking, if the hero rolls a blank he escapes the trap effect entirely.  These bonuses only apply if the regular trap effect applies.  Also note that these bonuses only apply when you play the trap card (unless I'm gravely mistaken.)  If a hero falls in a pit that was already on the map - even one you placed with a trap card in an earlier turn - the bonus does not apply.

Also keep in mind that for traps like Crushing Block that tell the hero to roll a number of black dice to escape damage; there's nothing about these abilities (trapmaster or spider queen) that says they add more dice to escape the extra damage.  The trap card does not say the number of dice will scale with extra damage.  Such cards are guaranteed to do a little damage at least when things like trapmaster are in play.

Yerazald said:

 

5- RtL and SoB, During encounter, it is said that the overlord take a number of threat tokens equals to the number of heroes. Does that means the numbers of living or remaining heroes or it sticks to 4?

 

The number of heroes in the game.  In RtL and SoB this number is always 4.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Steve-O said:

Yerazald said:

 

 

1- When can you use the crystal of Tival? At any time after equiped, but can you do it before receiving dmg from a trap or a monster attack?

 

 

I can never remember the general consensus on this one, but I believe the common opinion is that you must use Crystal of Tival (and other items of this ilk) immediately after completing the free equip at the start of your turn.  Basically you're forced to either play the turn with an open Other slot or pay 2 MP for a second equip after your turn has started as part of the cost of using the item.

Somewhere on the GLOAQ (at leats it is noted in the GLOAQ section of our proposal document) is the following answer:

Q. There are three treasures that offer one-time healing to a hero: Jinn's Lamp, Amulet of Healing, and Crystal of Tival. All three say "Discard after equipping at the start of your turn..."... Should "at the start of your turn" just be ignored, or does it have some other significance?
A. It can only be used at the start of your turn after Step 2: Equip Items. The result is that you will have only 1 Other item (if any) equipped.

That answer clearly indicates only one possible timing - between Step 2 and step 3 of the hero's own turn (which is what Steve-O said).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...