Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
jmeis982

Empty planet Question

Recommended Posts

I believe the simplest definition of "empty planet" is "planet void of Ground Forces and/or Mechanized Units". At least that's the definition we ran with in our last game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd say a planet with nothing but a control marker (or nothing at all) is "empty."  Anything else would make it non-empty (IMHO) but I might yet be proven wrong about leaders or artifacts or stuff like that.

@Fnoffen: I'm assuming that at least PDSes and SDs also qualified as non-empty?

Edit: I believe a planet with a domain counter is also considered empty.  I seem to recall hearing that one bandied about as claimable with Dip II.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I KNEW I had read the definition somewhere. Found it in the Shattered Empire Rulebook. Page 14 under The Diplomacy II Strategy.

"...in order to claim one empty planet (one without any Ground Forces, Leaders, PDSs, or Space Docks on it) adjacent to a system they control, even if another player controls the target planet."

I assume that Mechanized Units are to be included in the list there.

This would mean that neither Domain Counters nor Control Flags make a planet non-empty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The fact that planets with Domain Counters on it would be considered empty makes peaceful annexation a viable way to get rid of such scouted nasties as Radiation or Biohazard. Or any other DC you simply don't want to deal with. (Maybe you don't trust your dice hand with a Settlers DC...)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fnoffen said:

The fact that planets with Domain Counters on it would be considered empty makes peaceful annexation a viable way to get rid of such scouted nasties as Radiation or Biohazard. Or any other DC you simply don't want to deal with. (Maybe you don't trust your dice hand with a Settlers DC...)

Indeed, and the extra time it would take to scout and then annex and then colonize (presumably at least two game turns) means that strategy isn't exactly unfair, balance-wise, either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...