Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Edrahil

Nekro Virus and Ghosts of Creuss racial ability

Recommended Posts

 So a group and I were playing a game this past weekend and ran into an interesting problem.  Forgive me if i mangle the wording, its been a couple days since i looked at the rules (and have only played a couple times)

The Nekro Virus has the ability to steal racial tech instead of a standard tech (this then acts as their racial tech).  I was fighting my friend playing as the Ghosts of Creuss, and one of their racial techs is to place an unused wormhole token anywhere on the map, or move one of said tokens from its existing location to any other location.  I believe this happens during the status phase, but I may be mistaken

The question we ran into was: The nekro virus steals this tech.  Since the tech specifies "Unused wormhole tokens," which are specific to the Creuss, can the Nekro place these tokens? If so, does the Nekro player get his own pool of wormholes? or steal them from the Creuss? Or, can they just move these holes?

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

This question was answered by the most recent FAQ update:

Q: If Nekro uses Valefar Assimilator to copy Creuss’ Slave
Wormhole Generator, do they use Creuss’ wormhole tokens as
if a common supply?
A: The Nekro Virus player may use any Creuss Wormhole
token as a common supply. However, the same token may not
be placed (or moved) more than once per game round.

What isn't clear to me is how it would work with the Muatt's Nova Seed tech.  There is only one special Nova system that can only be used one time.  It would be reasonable to assert that being allowed to exist inside the Nova created by the ability is an enhancement of the standard Muatt ability to move through these systems.

However, the most consistent ruling with the above FAQ clarification would be that the Nekro CAN copy the power, but either race can only take advantage of it if they use it first-- the power can still only be used just one time during the game. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i would like to know for sure, however id give it a ruleing as.

  if the virus copies the card (nova seed). and then that (original) card is discarded. the virus still has their copie of novaseed.

and if moveing into a supernova as a racial ability makes this tech "an extension of said racial ability", then manipulating wormholes as the virus with copied ghost tech would be out as well since every racial ability the ghosts have is about wormholes.

it could be argued that once muuat uses its novased that the nekro is "currently" copying nothing. haveing a system explod once a game is huge, twice is extreamly serious. but as muuat with the virus playing i would save getting the tech just befor i used it anyways where normally i would keep it as a detourent.

ill always stick to offical ruleings but so far i dont see why i cannot be copied.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say that the nekrovirus could use the backside of an unused map tile as a placeholder for the Supernova. Or simpler still: flip the Supernova'd tile over and declare that a red empty space is a supernova for all intents and purposes. I mean. Why should Muaat have all the Strangeloveish fun?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fnoffen said:

I would say that the nekrovirus could use the backside of an unused map tile as a placeholder for the Supernova. Or simpler still: flip the Supernova'd tile over and declare that a red empty space is a supernova for all intents and purposes. I mean. Why should Muaat have all the Strangeloveish fun?

 

Twilight Imperium: Michael Bay Edition gran_risa.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...