Sign in to follow this  
Ken on Cape

How easy is it to adapt the combat to a battlemat?

I have always played my RPGs with minis and a battlemat, or someway to show where people are in combat in relation to each other.  looking hthrough the 40K RPGs at my local bookstore, i was surpised to see that a RPG based off a minis wargame did not have rules for battlemat/ mini combat.  This is my main reason for not picking any of the 40K RPGs up.

How easy is it to adapt the rules for battlemat/ mini use?

I have little experience with RPGs designed specifically for battlemats to be used.  Off the top of my head, the only one I've tried was probably D&D 4th edition.  That didn't last long.

I use a battlemat with my games, but not as a strict guide for movement or distance.  We drop down tokens to represent the positions of any combatants and I can quickly add with markers whatever details I need to better illustrate the conditions.  "This X is the crashed speeder, this circle represents the base of the building, etc." 

Others may have tried to turn it into a battlemat game, but I haven't heard of any.  Considering the vastly different speeds/ranges that pop up in combat, I would think it would be somewhat hard to model perfectly.

It works very well at short ranges.   One square equals one metre.  Good for showing line of sight, how far yopu can charge, who's in melee with who, etc.

(discaimer - that's for DH, but I don't see why DW would be any different)

Zakalwe said:

It works very well at short ranges.   One square equals one metre.  Good for showing line of sight, how far yopu can charge, who's in melee with who, etc.

(discaimer - that's for DH, but I don't see why DW would be any different)

Yeah, I can see that.  The problems start when you get into a firefight at 300 meters.  Or even more.

Brand said:

Yeah, I can see that.  The problems start when you get into a firefight at 300 meters.  Or even more.