Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Matrix3301

Can I do this in Setup phase?

Recommended Posts

There are 2 attachments with "Setup" keyword in Gates of the Citadel. "Copper Link" is for Maester character only, and "Apprentice Collar" give attached character Maester trait.

May I put non-Maester character ,"Copper Link" and "Apprentice Collar" into play from my hand at setup phase?  ,"Copper Link" is legal or not?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No.

You cannot place Setup attachments that cannot legally attach to another card placed during Setup. This doesn't give you room to transform card A in setup with card B in setup in order for card C to legally attach to it in setup. Essentially, you need Apprentice Collar to be on the other character before the Link can be placed, and there is no "before" in Setup. So the Link can only be placed on a character with the printed Maester trait during Setup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Characters have no traits in setup...

 

But there's a ruling about that (the question came with black Amethyst). If I remember well, the ruling was that the attachement attach itself to the cards at the begining of the plot phase, when cards have text and that putting in setup a non-legal combination (like Black amethyst without asshaî character) was forbidden.

 

Isn't Apprentice Collar + Copper link a non-legal combination ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ser Arthur said:

But there's a ruling about that (the question came with black Amethyst).
The ruling, and any reasoning that went along with it, has been pre-empted by an FAQ entry:

(3.38) Placing Setup Attachments
Attachments with the setup keyword must
legally attach when a player's setup is
revealed. If an attachment card with the setup
keyword cannot legally attach, the card cannot
be placed during setup.

Since this entry does not say anything about combinations being allowed to make attachments legal after cards are revealed, you have to take the cards individually. Copper Link cannot attach to a non-Maester character, so it is not legal to place without a Maester during Setup. You cannot rely on Apprentice Collar to make it legal for placement - hence the above reasoning that "you essentially need Apprentice Collar to be on the character before the Link can be placed, and there is no 'before' in Setup." 

Ser Arthur said:

Isn't Apprentice Collar + Copper link a non-legal combination ?
It's not that the combination is illegal in general, it is that, under the FAQ entry for placing cards during Setup, combinations cannot be taken into account when determining a legal placement of Setup cards.

 

Right result, Ser Arthur. Just the "wrong" reasoning because we have the FAQ entry to follow instead of the Black Amethyst ruling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...