Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Raleigh9123

Question about movement in LOTR WOTR

10 posts in this topic

Players go through the turn order (draw event cards, fellowship phase, hunt allocation and such) and when you get to the action dice resolution step there was a question about the movement.  Are you able to move an army (two separate armies) once per army die? or do you have to wait until the victory check, draw event cards, fellowship phase, hunt allocation, and action resolution before you can move again?  In short, do you have to wait until the next turn before you can move? or can you move the same army with another army die?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right.  The restriction on Army movement is basically that you can't move the same figure twice with the same Army die.  In other words, you can't do something like move Army A into the same Region with Army B and merge them, then move the combined Army with the second move.  That would be moving the figures in the original Army A twice with the same die.   Doing the same thing using two different Action dice is fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Uthoroc said:

You can move the same army again with a different die.

Can you attack more than once in a turn with the same army (with different dice)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sagremor said:

Uthoroc said:

 

You can move the same army again with a different die.

 

 

Can you attack more than once in a turn with the same army (with different dice)?

Absolutely!...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sagremor said:

Uthoroc said:

 

You can move the same army again with a different die.

 

 

Can you attack more than once in a turn with the same army (with different dice)?

Additionally, you probably will *have* to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When using an army action (or character action) die result to attack an enemy army in a non-stronghold region, does the combat only last for 1 round of attacks unless more dice are used? Or does one army action allow a battle to continue until the attacker decides to stop?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

arcana10 said:

When using an army action (or character action) die result to attack an enemy army in a non-stronghold region, does the combat only last for 1 round of attacks unless more dice are used? Or does one army action allow a battle to continue until the attacker decides to stop?

Actually attacking with an army is identical in function regardless of the die used, excepting the requirement of a leader for a character die.  The actual length of combat is a bit more complicated.

After the first round of combat, after casualties are removed, the attacking player is first given the option to continue the attack, or to cease the fighting.  If the attacking player ceases the attack, the attack is over.  Should the attacking player elect to continue the attack, the defending player must choose to engage or retreat.  If the defending player declines to retreat, another combat round is fought, and the players are faced with the same decisions afterward, provided armies on both sides survive.  If the defending player opts to retreat, the defender must move his/her army into an adjacent region with no enemy troops, and no enemy settlements (conquered or otherwise).  If there is no such space, the defender cannot retreat.

Finally, if the defending army retreats or is destroyed, the attacker may immediately move the army used to attack into the newly vacated region.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sinis said:

Should the attacking player elect to continue the attack, the defending player must choose to engage or retreat.  If the defending player declines to retreat, another combat round is fought, and the players are faced with the same decisions afterward, provided armies on both sides survive.  

.

 

So the attacking player can elect to continue the attack without spending another die result?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

arcana10 said:

Sinis said:

 

Should the attacking player elect to continue the attack, the defending player must choose to engage or retreat.  If the defending player declines to retreat, another combat round is fought, and the players are faced with the same decisions afterward, provided armies on both sides survive.  

.

 

 

 

So the attacking player can elect to continue the attack without spending another die result?

 

Correct.  This also explains the Witch-king's ability only gives you a free card during the first round of combat.

Note that to continue a fight against a beseiged force, one must downgrade an elite unit into a regular one; it is not free like fighting on the open field.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0