Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
scottindeed

Dunhere question

Recommended Posts

Dunhere's card says he can attack enemies in the Staging area and gets +1 Attack Strength if he attacks alone.  Does this mean that other characters can't attack at all when he does this (even normally against enemies that you are engaged with).  Or just that he has to attack the enemy in the staging area alone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The later. It seems to be written this way with other Heroes/Allies/Cards allowed to attack enemies in the staging area in the future. At the moment, he always attacks alone into the staging area.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I assumed they were seperate effects. Ie. He can attack enemies in the staging area And he gets +1 when attacking alone. So the anwser to your question would be that he gets +1 when attacking alone, regardless of where the target is. I assume this is a mechanic to regulate cards released later that may or may not be able to attack cards in the staging area too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DerBarchen said:

I assumed they were seperate effects. Ie. He can attack enemies in the staging area And he gets +1 when attacking alone. So the anwser to your question would be that he gets +1 when attacking alone, regardless of where the target is. I assume this is a mechanic to regulate cards released later that may or may not be able to attack cards in the staging area too.

They do not appear to be separate effects.

"Dúnhere can target enemies in the staging area when he attacks alone. When doing so, he gets +1 [Attack]."

The "so" in "when doing so" appears to imply "target enemies in the staging area when he attacks alone." 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Another Dunhere question.

When attacking enemies in the staging area, do they get there defense subtracted from the attack total, or is it straight damage?

We've been playing it straight damage, but I'm not sure if that's correct.

Thanks,

Don

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ismar said:

 Another Dunhere question.

When attacking enemies in the staging area, do they get there defense subtracted from the attack total, or is it straight damage?

We've been playing it straight damage, but I'm not sure if that's correct.

Thanks,

Don

Treat it like a normal attack in regard to dealing damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wraith428 said:

How does the ranged ability work with Dunhere.  Can characters with the ranged ability aid him?

No, they cannot. As per the rules for the Ranged keyword on page 24 (emphasis mine):

"A character with the ranged keyword can be declared by its controller as an attacker against enemies that are engaged with other players."

The enemy that Dúnhere attacks is still in the Staging Area and not actually engaged with any player, so the Ranged keyword has no bearing on the attack.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

HyenaSpotz said:

wraith428 said:

 

How does the ranged ability work with Dunhere.  Can characters with the ranged ability aid him?

 

 

No, they cannot. As per the rules for the Ranged keyword on page 24 (emphasis mine):

"A character with the ranged keyword can be declared by its controller as an attacker against enemies that are engaged with other players."

The enemy that Dúnhere attacks is still in the Staging Area and not actually engaged with any player, so the Ranged keyword has no bearing on the attack.

 

 

And then there's that whole Dunhere has to attack alone thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

qwertyuiop said:

Ismar said:

 

 Another Dunhere question.

When attacking enemies in the staging area, do they get there defense subtracted from the attack total, or is it straight damage?

We've been playing it straight damage, but I'm not sure if that's correct.

Thanks,

Don

 

 

Treat it like a normal attack in regard to dealing damage.

I would think it'd say something more like Dunhere "deals damage equal to his attack" if they intended it to be straight damage negating shields. I've always played it with shields applying. Which yes does suck sometimes for him at times, I know there's at least one monster with a 3 shield.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 No actually what is that "when doing so"... what's the 'so' that its referring to? The English language is vague in this regard, so the 'so' here is not obvious. Technically such 'so' appearances should refer to the most recent condition described: attacking alone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

vermillian said:

 

 No actually what is that "when doing so"... what's the 'so' that its referring to? The English language is vague in this regard, so the 'so' here is not obvious. Technically such 'so' appearances should refer to the most recent condition described: attacking alone.

 

 

I don't think it is vague at all. You are right that the "when so" is applied to the most recent condition, but the previous sentence only contains a single condition.

As others have already stated, they are only a single effect, "Dúnhere can target enemies in the staging area when he attacks alone"

Dunhere cannot attack enemies in the staging area unless he attacks alone, and therefore there are not two conditions only one. He never has an opportunity to attack enemies in the staging area with other people. Just because he can attack alone enemies that are not in the staging area, you cannot extrapolate that the +1 applies to all instances of him attacking alone, because the sentence isnt constructed in a way that supports that theory.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...