Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
marcemtp

Oksana voivodes

Recommended Posts

I would say yes, since you need three heros"two" troopers to make a squad. Currently your only choice for the Matriarchy is voivodesfour voivodes count as two troopers, so that make sense to me. And I could find a rule against it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oksana can't be played in the same faction team as Zor-ka but can still play for Matriarchy. Now I haven't played with/against them much so I'm wondering if with Zor'ka that would cut her own voivodes at the same time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I am really curious as to whether or not Oksana is just tame version of Zorka. Does she offer anything new? Would there be a good reason to chose her over Zorka? If anyone could shed some more light on Oksana I would be grateful!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

well, to begin with a completly different play style. With Zor'ka on the team, the matriarchy centers around one singel powerful character and the rest of the team is mainly there to give her support. The Voivodes in particular is only to make Zor'ka stronger. But when you play with Oksana, the focus shifts and now it's your Voivodes who are the might ones. Oksana plays a roll similar to Zor'ka, in that she makes or breaks the team depending on if she's alive or not, she is a bit like a Russian Von Heizinger you might say.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I totally agree!  I have absolutely NO idea why you'd pick Oksana over Zor'ka!?  I'm tempted to house-rule that if you pick Oksana, you start with 6 voivodes...the two sets of troopers you normally would start with, along with her additional voivodes (troops).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

its all down to play style as stated, she can be really nasty, as those voids can get about quicker than you think, as stated earlier, try her a few times, and it plays the map differently because the way you use her

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just got my Oksana and Asteros last night, but it seems that they might be meant to be played together.  Her Voivodes are one trooper, and Asteros counts as a hero and a Trooper.  Now  you're not using extra voivodes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

surely if you play them together, you will still use the voids, as they count for 1 trooper, so her an asty is two heroes and 2 troopers, so you will play 1 more hero, but you will miss out on a extra trooper

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right, what I meant was in reference to the first comment in this thread about using 4 voivodes with Okasana, borrowing two from Zor'ka.  Doing that, borrowing 2, seems like something that needs to be clarified as to whether or not you can do that.  To me it seems unclear if you can do so.  Not that this is the only option, but if you play Asteros and Oksana together, using her two voivodes, you eliminate the need for that question to be answered.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sorry see what you mean now, yea asty is a beast,lol.

i should think you could take 2 extra,if you wanted i dont see why not, if she can control 2, then why not 4, i know not everyone likes them but i do a lot.

i think even physcologicaly your enemy is very worried of them as it depends what you equip them with

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In her rulebook Oksana states that all of the Voivodes in her team automatically get prime directive 0. Hence there is no real confusion as "Zorka's" Voivodes simply become Oksana's Voivodes (she is a tinkerer and a tech prodigy after all), and she gets a full compliment of 4 Voivodes when playing the matriarchy according to the standard deployment rules.

 

Being released roughly at the same time as Asteros does not mean they are magically linked and one cant be played without the other.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After looking at the rules and character books again, I agree that there is no reason you can't use four voivodes. I wasn't saying that you had to use Asty and Oksana together, it just makes the whole concept of using her and only two voivodes a bit more "convenient".
 

One question, "prime directive 0", where in the rule book(s) does it actually reference this subject as prime directive 0 vs. the Okasana book says "All Voivodes used with Oksana operate the same as those used with Zor'ka"?  No I am not being an anal rules lawyer, I'm asking out of curiosity and or ignorance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 It is Oksana's rulebook- under the paragraph Twisted creations:

"All of Oksana's Voivodes have the following wquipement (Smiljan B coils and Prime directive0). This equipment replaces the standard equipment for Voivodes (Smiljan Coil) described on page 62 of the rulebook."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Has this question been submitted to FFG?

The rules are all but clear on this.

Oksana's rule say : "her two voïvodes must replace one of your troopers". This led me to think that she couldn't take more. But I can see it going the other way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi:

 

(AFTBR): There's a statement in the main rulebook about only Zor'ka having 4 voivodes.  Since I believe Oksana to be a "Zor'ka in training (a "junior Zor'ka"?)", seems to point that she only has access to 2.

 

 

HtH

L

PS: I also believe that, per the rules as written, the RUR can only help Zor'ka, so that figure's almost useless (with Oksana).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lete, you need to give page numbers if your going to say it's in the book.

As the rules stand right now; if Oksana was on a Matriarchy only team she would have to have 4, or else the team would be short a "character". (2 Voivodes = 1 Character.), but this may change with the Allied Forces rules comming here in a few weeks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you guys sure about Oksana being able to have more than 2 voivodes? I agree with the one guy, in Oksana's booklet it says that you take 2 instead of one trooper- so obviously she gets voivodes too. But I was under the impression that the rule book states "Voivodes may be taken as a troops choice only if Zorka is a hero choice" (or something like that) or is that the old rule book?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I am sure. The rules state that each team starts with two troopers. Two voivods are one trooper, so if Oksana started with two voivods, matriarchy would have effectively just one trooper and three heroes. That is clearly not the intention of the rules. If it was, it would render matriarchy totally useless...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...