Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ffgfan

Rules question

23 posts in this topic

Ok, so I readed through the rules and got a few questions:

1) If a Hero's is discarded from play does his resource pool stay? I'm asking becouse I had this funny though when I readed the rules that it can but logic says that it can't be possible.

2) If a players deck ends and he has no more card that he can draw - does he got a chance to shuffle the discard pile back?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ffgfan said:

Ok, so I readed through the rules and got a few questions:

1) If a Hero's is discarded from play does his resource pool stay? I'm asking becouse I had this funny though when I readed the rules that it can but logic says that it can't be possible.

2) If a players deck ends and he has no more card that he can draw - does he got a chance to shuffle the discard pile back?

About your second question if i remember well you cant shuffle your discard pile.You must continue your game with only the cards you have in play.On the other hand wen the shadow deck ends you must shuffle shadow discard pile back.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ffgfan said:

 

Ok, so I readed through the rules and got a few questions:

1) If a Hero's is discarded from play does his resource pool stay? I'm asking becouse I had this funny though when I read the rules that it can but logic says that it can't be possible.

2) If a players deck ends and he has no more card that he can draw - does he got a chance to shuffle the discard pile back?

 

 

 

1) I would go with no as its attached to that hero; and in game of thrones things like power, gold etc attached to a character goes when the character dies.

2) No, rule is on page 25. "Running Out of Cards
If a player runs out of cards in his player deck, he
continues to play the game with the cards he has in play
and in his hand. He does not reshuffle his discard pile.
If the encounter deck is ever out of cards during the
quest phase, the encounter discard pile is shuffled and
reset back into the encounter deck."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Toqtamish said:

1) I would go with no as its attached to that hero; and in game of thrones things like power, gold etc attached to a character goes when the character dies.

2) No, rule is on page 25. "Running Out of Cards
If a player runs out of cards in his player deck, he
continues to play the game with the cards he has in play
and in his hand. He does not reshuffle his discard pile.
If the encounter deck is ever out of cards during the
quest phase, the encounter discard pile is shuffled and
reset back into the encounter deck."

Thanks, I couldn't find that second importent information.

I wish the game would show a lot sooner then end of April/ first week of May.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a Hero's is discarded from play does his resource pool stay? I'm asking becouse I had this funny though when I readed the rules that it can but logic says that it can't be possible.

 

no, it's not possibile, because every resource token must have a sphere of influence, if the hero with spirit sphere dies, all the resources that he generated are thrown away, and if they aren't thrown away then you have a number of no-sphere resource that cannot be used, a bit useless xD

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like the rules and now i can understand how good this game is.Best think is the hidden shadow cards on minions.I like this concept a lot.

A co-op card game is more interesting than i thought.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The hidden shadow card reminds me of Star Wars CCG's destiny mechanic, except that only the 'bad guys' get to use it and it may really, really hurt you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What happens when no characters commit to a quest? Do characters have to commit to a quest? The answer is probably right in front of me but am I missing something?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

radioboyeric said:

What happens when no characters commit to a quest? Do characters have to commit to a quest? The answer is probably right in front of me but am I missing something?

 

Threat levels would rise by quite a bit in that case depending on the current threat strength as it would compare against 0 for the characters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

radioboyeric said:

What happens when no characters commit to a quest? Do characters have to commit to a quest? The answer is probably right in front of me but am I missing something?

 

The answer is on page 14 of the rulebook under Quest Resolution:

"If the (enemy combined threat strength) is higher, the players have unsuccessfully quested, and they are driven back by the encounter deck.  Each player must raise his threat dial by the amount by which the (enemy combined threat strength) was higher than the combined willpower strength of all committed characters."

 

In other words, when no characters commit to a quest your effective willpower strength is zero (as noted earlier) thus forcing you to take the full brunt of the enemy threat..  Characters do not HAVE to quest, but the game gives plenty of incentive to do so.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

radioboyeric said:

Gotcha...and well put Bohemund!

I can here Alec Baldwin saying that in Glen Gary Glen Ross; "ABQ...Always Be Questing"

1st Prize is the freedom of Middle-Earth...

2nd Prize is a set of steak knives.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After reading the rules and some discutions with my friends I got some new questions that need clarification.

1) Quest phase - does the Treat count only from the Enemies and Locations  in the staging area or does we also count the Enemies engaged with players?

2)  Does the Proggress tokens pass on the next Quest card if we got more than it needs? Let's say for example that We can play 9 progress tokens on Flies & Spiders that needs only 8, does this 1 progress token on the next stage of the scenario?

3) can we end the game engaged with Enemies?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) You only count threat in the staging area.  Once you travel to a location or engage an enemy, it no longer directly interferes with questing.  The Hill troll punching you in the face causes other problems, but at least you do not have to deal with threat.

2)  No, progress does not carry over from one quest to the next.  It can carry over from locations to the quest itself, but not from one step of the quest to another.

3) Unless the goals say otherwise, yep.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would like to use this thread to get rid of my questions, too happy.gif

 

Many cards in the player´s deck state things like "Attach to a hero" or "After a character is declared as defender".

Let´s take the first example. Can I attach this card only to heroes I control or also to heroes of the other player?

The same question for the second example. Am I able to play this event card when my partner declares a character as a defender, or only when I declare one of my characters as a defender?

I am not quite sure, but I think I stumbled over a card that was explicitly limited to characters controled by you. That would strengthten my position that cards that are not explicitly limited to your character, can be also played on the characters of the second player. What do you think?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can absolutely play cards on your allies.  Unless specific restrictions prevent you, uses your cards to help other players.  Remember, it is supposed to be a cooperative game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the reply. That sounds awesome. So practically there should be no downtime even when your partner does his actions. I am more and more convinced that this is the LCG I have been always wating for.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there, another simple question, maybe I was just blind, but I couldn't find info on it in the rulebook... enlighten me if that's the case ;)

If one of your heroes dies, does your threat level go down?

My initial thought is: No, because only then would it be a punishment for players to add their dead heroes' threat level to their rating at the end. On the other hand, your group of heroes is, put realistically, not as much a threat as before... Thanks for help,

Stefan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The threat rating of heroes, as far as I can tell, only effects your starting threat.  The unfortunate demise of one of your heroes does not lower your threat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dasor said:

no, it's not possibile, because every resource token must have a sphere of influence, if the hero with spirit sphere dies, all the resources that he generated are thrown away, and if they aren't thrown away then you have a number of no-sphere resource that cannot be used, a bit useless xD

 

Precisely correct.  Page 12 of the rulebook states that resource pools are "attached to" hero cards.  If that hero card is no longer in play, neither are the resources that were attached to that card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0