Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
servant of the secret fire

Gandalf free for all?

Recommended Posts

As he is an ally, you need to pay x amount of resources to put him into play. As he does not have a sphere, this means you can use resources from any heroes, from any sphere, to pay for him. For example, you could pay 1 from Aragorn, 2 from Denethor and 2 from Gimli, even though they are of different spheres (assuming Gandalf's cost is 5; I have a feeling it is, but it probably isn't, knowing my memory).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

YGrams said:

As he is an ally, you need to pay x amount of resources to put him into play. As he does not have a sphere, this means you can use resources from any heroes, from any sphere, to pay for him. For example, you could pay 1 from Aragorn, 2 from Denethor and 2 from Gimli, even though they are of different spheres (assuming Gandalf's cost is 5; I have a feeling it is, but it probably isn't, knowing my memory).

I see.Thanks a lot for your reply.

Gandalf needs 6 resources to put him in play lengua.gif.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

YGrams said:

As he is an ally, you need to pay x amount of resources to put him into play. As he does not have a sphere, this means you can use resources from any heroes, from any sphere, to pay for him. For example, you could pay 1 from Aragorn, 2 from Denethor and 2 from Gimli, even though they are of different spheres (assuming Gandalf's cost is 5; I have a feeling it is, but it probably isn't, knowing my memory).

 

This look like a good spot to plug my site :)     Gandalf at lotrlcg.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Yeah, that's the old card. The response is also changed on the new card, I think it was not kill an enemy but inflict 4 damage now. And note that on the final cards, the willpower symbol is the top symbol now on the left side.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BeardFan said:

 Yeah, that's the old card. The response is also changed on the new card, I think it was not kill an enemy but inflict 4 damage now. And note that on the final cards, the willpower symbol is the top symbol now on the left side.

So Gandalf now plays with heroes with the willpower sphere?And about the response you still must discard Gandalf at the end of the turn?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, you misunderstood me. Gandalf is a neutral card. The sphere you mean is spirit. Willpower is on of the 3 attributes of each character. What I meant is that on the prototype cards the first symbol was Attack, then Defense, then Willpower. On the final cards it's first Willpower, then Attack, then Defense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BeardFan said:

No, you misunderstood me. Gandalf is a neutral card. The sphere you mean is spirit. Willpower is on of the 3 attributes of each character. What I meant is that on the prototype cards the first symbol was Attack, then Defense, then Willpower. On the final cards it's first Willpower, then Attack, then Defense.

Oh i see.Thanks for the reply.Is there a posibility we will see Gandalf as a hero and not only as an ally?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

servant of the secret fire said:

 

Oh i see.Thanks for the reply.Is there a posibility we will see Gandalf as a hero and not only as an ally?

Everything is possible I suppose, but I don't really think so. Gandalf would have to be too powerful to be a faithful representation of the character we know from the novels. You'd lose the game before even starting it since your threat rating would be too high gui%C3%B1o.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jhaelen said:

 

servant of the secret fire said:

 

 

Oh i see.Thanks for the reply.Is there a posibility we will see Gandalf as a hero and not only as an ally?

 

Everything is possible I suppose, but I don't really think so. Gandalf would have to be too powerful to be a faithful representation of the character we know from the novels. You'd lose the game before even starting it since your threat rating would be too high gui%C3%B1o.gif

 

 

 

Then i think the same think counts for Lady Galadriel:The power that dwelt there was to grate for any to overcome,unless Sauron had come there himself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, 3 per deck.

"Additionally, no more than three copies of any card, by
title, can be included in a player’s deck. Within these
guidelines any combination of allies, attachments, and
events can be used in the player deck."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Toqtamish said:

No, 3 per deck.

"Additionally, no more than three copies of any card, by
title, can be included in a player’s deck. Within these
guidelines any combination of allies, attachments, and
events can be used in the player deck."

I think i saw in the rules that Gandalf is the only free for all card in the core set and you can have only one copy of him in your deck.I ll check again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The quote you found is simply informing players that each deck will come with one Gandalf card already in it. But that doesn't mean you can't add more copies when you create your own custom decks. When building a deck, you can have up to three Gandalfs (or any other card).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lausus said:

The quote you found is simply informing players that each deck will come with one Gandalf card already in it. But that doesn't mean you can't add more copies when you create your own custom decks. When building a deck, you can have up to three Gandalfs (or any other card).

Thanks a lot Lausus.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

servant of the secret fire said:

Each starter deck should also include one copy of the neutral ally card,Gandalf(card 73).

Maybe this rule is only for starter decks and you can have 3 copys of Gandalf in a customize deck?Please explain that to me cause you allready know that my English sucks sad.gif.

Works like that in all the LCG's, they tell you how to build the decks. But when you build your own you can have up to 3 of any card. Even unique cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Toqtamish said:

servant of the secret fire said:

 

Each starter deck should also include one copy of the neutral ally card,Gandalf(card 73).

Maybe this rule is only for starter decks and you can have 3 copys of Gandalf in a customize deck?Please explain that to me cause you allready know that my English sucks sad.gif.

 

 

Works like that in all the LCG's, they tell you how to build the decks. But when you build your own you can have up to 3 of any card. Even unique cards.

Yea i understand that now.Thanks for answering my stupid questions allways.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can have three copies of Gandalf in your deck but since it's a unique card, you can only have one copy of the card in play in the game at any given moment..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...