Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Flashfires

Infinite threat? Scenario 4

6 posts in this topic

In the fourth scenario, the keeper has the Uncontrollable Urges action and one of the exploration cards placed on the board is the Ceremonial Skull (full text listed below).  I've been puzzling over these two cards, as it seems to allow the keeper to generate an infinite loop of threat gain.  Yes, I realize the Skull does not always come out in the Keeper's favor, but the best odds for investigators are only 50/50 while the best odds for the Keeper range up to 80/20.  Any help or work arounds to this problem would be appreciated.

 

Uncontrollable Urges (Threat Cost 2)

Keeper Action

Action: Choose an investigator.  You may then move him to an adjacent space or force him to resolve an action from 1 of his Spell, equipment, artifact, or tome cards.  You make all required choices.

---

Ceremonial Skull

Artifact

Gain +2 Lore

Action: Test your Luck.

Pass: Gain 3 skill points.

Fail: Keeper gains 4 threat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You should probably shoot this question to FFG (use the rules questions link).

Personally, I think that the action/item forced to be used can only be done once per player. So, you could only force a player to use the skull once per turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't understand how you could get infinite threat. They still take the test and can pass.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Brine said:

 

I don't understand how you could get infinite threat. They still take the test and can pass.

 

 

If the investigator fails the roll, the Keeper has spent 2 threat and gains 4 threat, for a total of +2 threat.  The Keeper then spends another 2 threat to cause the investigator to use the skull again. Should the investigator fail that roll, the keeper has gained another +2 threat. Keep going, as long as the investigator keeps failing the roll the Keeper will be gaining a net +2 threat per time. that is how it is "infinite" threat.

Considering it is a Luck roll, which is a value anywhere from 2-5, with the average investigator having about a 3, and the fact that you cannot use a skill point to add to Luck tests, the chances of the investigator failing are pretty good.

Even if the investigator passes after failing a couple times, the Keeper can just do it again.

that's why I would probably suggest just only allowing the Keeper to force the use of a specific object once per turn. <shrug> Or, you could add +1 to the test for each subsequent use in the turn, making it more 'dangerous' for the Keeper to keep forcing the test, and more likely for the investigator to succeed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To my mind, logic would dictate  the following:

How many times can a player's investigator use the skull in his or her own turn: once (as an action)

Ergo, if the player's investigator is "compelled" to use the skull in the Keeper's turn, he or she can only be compelled to use it once.

Presumably, use of the skull takes a finite amount of time, so the Keeper should not be allowed to compel someone to use it multiple times per turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Excatly.  You can not give your player multiple actions per turn with the Uncontrollable Urges Keeper Action card.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0