Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
teramaze

Bash skill Question?

Recommended Posts

Ok i a game a played last week.  I had this situation come up MAster level troll in play along with doom x2 in play. i was want to know can the troll use bash skill without rolling the extra dice to get the spend two surges to gain +5 damage and Pierce 2.  in my case i was rolling 1 red 1 green 1 yelow and 2 black dice before useing bash extra dice. Seeing it says may i think that i do not have to roll any power dice from bash but still can use the surges to gain damage and pirece.

 

BAsh says: A figure with bash may roll up to 5 power dice with an attack.  If any of the power dice come up blank, the attack misses.  Otherwise, the attack gains 2 surges to gain +5 damage and Pierce 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

teramaze said:

BAsh says: A figure with bash may roll up to 5 power dice with an attack.  If any of the power dice come up blank, the attack misses.  Otherwise, the attack gains 2 surges to gain +5 damage and Pierce 2.

 

may... thats the word which gives the answer. So you can, but don't have to use extra dice. Anyways two surges give you the +5 damage and + 2 pierce.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The longer version of the Bash abililty (page 8 of the AoD rules) specifically states: "The figure never has to roll any power dice when making a Bash attack, regardless of other effects."

However, it doesn't say "if any of the extra power dice is a blank..." it says that if any power die is a blank, you miss.  So, as written, even if you only roll the power dice you are entitled to from other sources, any blank is still a miss, though in RtL you could presumably use the "boosts" from Doom to upgrade some black dice (that you receive from the Bash ability) into silver/gold dice.

The reason for this is probably so that someone with some power dice from Bash and some from another source doesn't have to somehow keep track of which ones can cause the attack to miss and which ones don't.

Also, the wording kind of implies that you can choose not to use the Bash ability ("when making an attack with the Bash ability..."), in which case you could use your "normal" power dice (including things like Doom) without missing on blanks, but you wouldn't get the "two surges: +5 damage and Pierce 2" ability.  But I can't find anything that specifically says you can do this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...