Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
artemis8

Defense lasers, order/combat card precedence...

Recommended Posts

Hello, following  2 problems arose in our last game:

1) Do defense lasers shoot at Chaos forces that fly FROM a spaceport TO Vengeful Spirit? Rules cover a situation for INBOUND units, which I understand as a direction FROM Vengeful Spirit TO a spaceport. But taken logicaly they should be able to shoot on both types (directions) of transports.

2) When there is a contradiction between a combat card and an order card, which takes precedence?

a) Order card Frenzied assault  vs. combat card Strategic withdrawal. RA says that units that rout or retreat are instead killed, while SW enables you to withdraw, but also specifies that this move is not supposed neither a retreat nor a rout, so it is clear.

b) Another example: Again Frenzied assault vs. the combat card Know no fear, that enables Space marines, instead of their killing, to move them to an adjacent area with 2 wounds. Does RA effect kill them or not ? Similar situation is with a combat card Buy time.

What do you think about it? Thanks for your feedback.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) No, they don't. It might be more realistic if they did, but the rules don't allow it, and I think it's for the better. It is more interesting and cool to shoot at troops incoming from above.
Note that that would be a reason for traitors to man Defence Lasers (to shoot down the Emperor's forces when he tries to board Vengeful Spirit; I know they are not allowed to).

2)
a) This one is clear, as you said.
b) This one is clear as well. Know no Fear says "place" not rout or retreat. So Frenzied Assault has no influence on this effect. Buy Time says "move" which signifies the same: No influence of Frenzied Assault on this effect.
As you see, Frenzied Assault can only influence effects that use the words "rout" or "retreat".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

redsimon said:

2)
a) This one is clear, as you said.
b) This one is clear as well. Know no Fear says "place" not rout or retreat. So Frenzied Assault has no influence on this effect. Buy Time says "move" which signifies the same: No influence of Frenzied Assault on this effect.
As you see, Frenzied Assault can only influence effects that use the words "rout" or "retreat".

What a pity sad.gif

Thus Imperial boys have still enough possibilities (cards, mentioned above) how to escape from a neatly woven web of  Chaos forces.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...