Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ragamoffyn

Can carriers unload on 2 planets, and other newb questions

Recommended Posts

Hi. I have a bunch of questions resulting from my first attempt to play this game. I searched the FAQ and rules, but couldn't find what I needed, so I'm hoping one of you can help.

 

1)  When a carrier enters an activated system containing 2 neutral planets, can it unload ground forces onto both of those planets at once (assuming it is carrying at least two ground forces)?

2) Does the fleet supply limit  apply to a player's home system? For example, I start out with three command counters in the Fleet Supply area, but at the beginning of the game, I start out with quite a few ships in my home system. My assumption was that that system must not be limited. I s that correct?

3) Do players gain command counters only from the status phase, the Logistics Strategy card, and maybe a couple of other cards? I ask because although I was able to play only a couple of turns, I kept losing counters after each one. I would generally spend, say, 3 command counters during a turn on tactical actions, but I would only get two back during the status phase. I'm wondering if that is the way things are supposed to work, meaning resources will dwindle each turn if a player spends more than two counters (making the Logistics card much more valuable).

4) I understand that ships within an activated system can't leave until it is deactivated (unless they return to it within the same round). But if I activate a system one round, can I continue to move ships INTO that system in subsequent rounds, while it is activated?

5) Say during one round, I activate a system and move a ship into it. During my next round, I use the Warfare card to deactivate that system. During my third round, then, can I activate an adjacent system and have that same ship move there? Basically, I'm wondering if the ship's movement rate gets refreshed when the system is deactivated via Warfare.

 

That's about it. Thanks much for any help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ragamoffyn said:

1)  When a carrier enters an activated system containing 2 neutral planets, can it unload ground forces onto both of those planets at once (assuming it is carrying at least two ground forces)?

Yes.  It could also unload on two or more planets if any/all of them were NOT neutral.  As long as all the planets in question are in the Active Hex for this action.  If you're using the Distant Suns option, there are a couple of timing issues concerning specific DS tokens which I'm not 100% certain about the official answers to, personally.  I prefer to resolve each planet independently, myself.

ragamoffyn said:

2) Does the fleet supply limit  apply to a player's home system? For example, I start out with three command counters in the Fleet Supply area, but at the beginning of the game, I start out with quite a few ships in my home system. My assumption was that that system must not be limited. I s that correct?

Fleet Supply does count in your Home System, as it does in every system you have a fleet in.  Keep in mind, however, that Fighters do not count towards fleet supply (anywhere), and are instead limited by the fighter support capacity of any space docks and/or carriers/war suns in the system with them.  Also, GFs and PDSes, as ground units, do not count against Fleet.

ragamoffyn said:

3) Do players gain command counters only from the status phase, the Logistics Strategy card, and maybe a couple of other cards? I ask because although I was able to play only a couple of turns, I kept losing counters after each one. I would generally spend, say, 3 command counters during a turn on tactical actions, but I would only get two back during the status phase. I'm wondering if that is the way things are supposed to work, meaning resources will dwindle each turn if a player spends more than two counters (making the Logistics card much more valuable).

Yes, those are the standard sources of CCs, and yes Logistics is valueable specifically for this reason.  Remember everyone (other than the holder) gets to use the Secondary ability of most SCs, so even if someone else has Logistics, you can still make use of it to a lesser extent.  2 or 3 actions per turn is the standard rate for most people, plus any ACs that may be played "as an action."

ragamoffyn said:

4) I understand that ships within an activated system can't leave until it is deactivated (unless they return to it within the same round). But if I activate a system one round, can I continue to move ships INTO that system in subsequent rounds, while it is activated?

No.  Generally speaking only the Active Hex (the one specified for this action) has anything going on.  Ships can only move if they are going to the Active Hex.  The Active Hex is not the same as "any activated hex."  Battles are only fought in the Active Hex, new units can only be produced in the Active Hex (if able), etc.  A Transfer Action has two Active Hexes (which must be adjacent and both already controlled by you), but movement can only be performed between those two hexes, you can't bring stuff in from outside.

ragamoffyn said:

5) Say during one round, I activate a system and move a ship into it. During my next round, I use the Warfare card to deactivate that system. During my third round, then, can I activate an adjacent system and have that same ship move there? Basically, I'm wondering if the ship's movement rate gets refreshed when the system is deactivated via Warfare.

Yes.  Once Warfare removes the CC from the hex, it is no longer activated.  The game does not remember that a CC used to be there for any purpose.  You may then later activate a different hex and move the ship from here to there as normal.  This is what makes the Warfare SC valueable.  There are also two (I think) ACs called "Unexpected Action" which do the same thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Responses in bold.

ragamoffyn said:

Hi. I have a bunch of questions resulting from my first attempt to play this game. I searched the FAQ and rules, but couldn't find what I needed, so I'm hoping one of you can help.

 

1)  When a carrier enters an activated system containing 2 neutral planets, can it unload ground forces onto both of those planets at once (assuming it is carrying at least two ground forces)?

Yes, you can.

2) Does the fleet supply limit  apply to a player's home system? For example, I start out with three command counters in the Fleet Supply area, but at the beginning of the game, I start out with quite a few ships in my home system. My assumption was that that system must not be limited. I s that correct?

Fleet supply applies to all systems, including homesystems. No races start out with more ships than they are allowed to. Remember, fighters don't count. (Also Letnev and Mentak have special abilities, check out their race sheets).

3) Do players gain command counters only from the status phase, the Logistics Strategy card, and maybe a couple of other cards? I ask because although I was able to play only a couple of turns, I kept losing counters after each one. I would generally spend, say, 3 command counters during a turn on tactical actions, but I would only get two back during the status phase. I'm wondering if that is the way things are supposed to work, meaning resources will dwindle each turn if a player spends more than two counters (making the Logistics card much more valuable).

You're absolutely right. You get 2 per round, plus any from logistics, and that's pretty much it. 

4) I understand that ships within an activated system can't leave until it is deactivated (unless they return to it within the same round). But if I activate a system one round, can I continue to move ships INTO that system in subsequent rounds, while it is activated?

No. You can only move ships into a system right the second after you activate it. To move more ships in, you'd have to activate it again - but that's not allowed.

5) Say during one round, I activate a system and move a ship into it. During my next round, I use the Warfare card to deactivate that system. During my third round, then, can I activate an adjacent system and have that same ship move there? Basically, I'm wondering if the ship's movement rate gets refreshed when the system is deactivated via Warfare.

 Yes, the movement is 'refreshed', as you put it. Once you deactivate a system, for all intents and purposes treat the system like the CC was never even there.

That's about it. Thanks much for any help.

Hope that helps!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...