Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
FFGKimball

Creating a FAQ

57 posts in this topic

Hello Dust Tactics fans!

The game has been out for nearly six months, and we have received lots of positive feedback on the game—from the gorgeous miniatures to the fast, furious gameplay. We are really excited about the upcoming releases, so check back on our website frequently to catch the latest developments on Dust Tactics.

At this time we are working on creating a FAQ for the game. If you have any rule questions that you feel aren't answered in the Core Set rulebook, please add them to this thread for our consideration.

Thanks for your help!

Steve

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know these questions are throughout the forums but I'd like to see official rules rather than peoples opinions or ideas.

How does sustain fire or berserk work for laser weapons?

Does Black Op Work on first round?

The ludwig's 8.8 stats are for both guns not for just 1 right?

Does Joe's Grenade Launcher ignore cover?

Do heroes get cover saves like squads or are they stuck getting fired at all the time like walkers?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Mine isn't so much a rules question as a stats question.

 

Looking at the base set I get how each allies unit has a corresponding axis unit. The points for which seem fair enough.

The only exception to this seems to me to be the Recon Rangers squad. when compared to the "Recon Grenadiers". The Allies seem to be incrediblt hard done by according to the card.

The basic rifles are the same.

The axis mg48 has more dice than the victory.

The panzerfaust is able to damage heavy infantry and vehicles up to Armour 7 and there are3 to use, where as UGL's can only hurt up to medium infantry and only vehicles up to armour 2!! they do have apoint more range

The axis also have the knife and grenade weapon as opposed to simply a knife meaning they can damage heavy infantry and light vehicles. They allied unit can not.

All in all, the Recon Grenadiers are much better and more destructive than the Recon boys and yet they are both 2 points to buy for your army. This seems wrong to me.

The campaign book lists the Recon boys as using there speed to get in and then out. But they have no extra speed. I am wondering if they are meant to have the fast skill to balance out their lack of destructive capability. 

Thanks for reading.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

arkangl said:

I know these questions are throughout the forums but I'd like to see official rules rather than peoples opinions or ideas.

How does sustain fire or berserk work for laser weapons?

Does Black Op Work on first round?

The ludwig's 8.8 stats are for both guns not for just 1 right?

Does Joe's Grenade Launcher ignore cover?

Do heroes get cover saves like squads or are they stuck getting fired at all the time like walkers?

All of these questions [except the Ludwig's 88s question] are answered in very clear and plain English in the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They are but for tournament reasons I want an something official rather than just forum answer. I'm not a straight forward person on rules but I play 40k and there are a lot a people who are in that game so I figure there will be in this game when it goes more mainstream like 40k is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Ok, I am a 40k player too, but like I said.  There is no question about these abilities...  They are Clearly defined and spelled out in the rules.  It is not like a lot of 40k rules where they don't say one way or the other.  The rules I am talking about are straight forward.  I can quote page numbers for you if you would like.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When a squad fires, can they fire all weapons listed on the card in the same round, or does each unit in a squad only fire once?  The rules are not clear. It says all the mechs can fire all there weapons, but nothing about squads.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ken on Cape said:

When a squad fires, can they fire all weapons listed on the card in the same round, or does each unit in a squad only fire once?  The rules are not clear. It says all the mechs can fire all there weapons, but nothing about squads.

Kinda is clear, page 10 first sentence under "Shooting Rules" During its activation a unit may use all of its weapons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok so I found contradicting rules when it comes to shooting diagonals. The rules says it’s the same on as moving diagonal allowing the 1st diagonal to count as 1 instead of 2 on page 6, but if you look at the example on the next page, page 7, it counts diagonals as 2 each. Which one is right? I would assume the text overrides the example, but it still contradicts itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

having looked at the picture on page seven of the rulebook I don't see a problem with the ruling on page 6 and the picture on page 7.
The picture clearly has the first diagonal as 1 square and any further diagonals counting as 2.

In other words both the rules on page 6 and the example picture on page 7 are correct as they both give the same information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe this was already addressed, but could not find it. What is bad is that I think I asked this question before and dont remember the answer.

Dust Tactics Rule Book

Page 9:  The squad or hero cannot end its move in the same square as another unit, however.

Page 14:  A hero can share a square with a friendly unit, even a friendly vehicle.  Heros are the only units that can share a square with a friendly unit.

  The two units can still share the same square (since heroes are allowed to share a square with any friendly unit).

 

Therefore, are heroes allowed to move and end in the same square as a squad they are not attached to? 

Can they end in the same square as a vehicle?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got a good one for FAQ. What do you do when you have 12 recon squads and 1 hero for 200 points. You have 9 squares to deploy on and it says deploy not enter? Do you enter the table at the first group or do you deploy the next row up?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not got cyclone yet but the core game missions all allow movement on the turn your unit arrives so you can run onto the board and have space for another unit on the square behind the first.

Operation: Cyclone will arrive next week but unless that has missions where you deploy instead of move onto the board your situation should not come up in any game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No only ones that say enter the board which is walking on turn 1 and you can run 2 squares the ones that say deploy on the board start on the board b4 the game starts which means you cannot move until the first turn and u are stuck with ur first row of deployment. Also what about home made scanerios the store made for tournaments which it says in the tournament rules its allowed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

arkangl said:

No only ones that say enter the board which is walking on turn 1 and you can run 2 squares the ones that say deploy on the board start on the board b4 the game starts which means you cannot move until the first turn and u are stuck with ur first row of deployment.

On page 16 of the coregame rulebook it states that:
"During the first round, the units must enter the gameboard. Their first action on the battlefield is always a one square move ([arrow image]), symbolizing the fact that the unit "enters" the gameboard. Once a unit has entered the game, it acts straight away! All options are not available (since the unit already moved once), but if you have a target in range, you may attack it immediately. You may also choose to perform a double movement, etc."

This means that in any official mission a unit that is put onto the board counts as having moved 1 square (1 action) and can make one more action that turn. That second action can then be used to move again (double movement) to create an entry space for the next unit.

arkangl said:


Also what about home made scanerios the store made for tournaments which it says in the tournament rules its allowed.

 

So you expect FFG to solve a problem that has originated from a houserule?

Easy fix for that one would be that it you can't deploy a unit it has to wait till the next round to deploy but you are never allowed to keep units back if you have got the space to deploy them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OMG, you are not getting it. When it says under deployment if it says "Deploy" they don't move on to the table they are already there that means its before the game starts. If it says "enter" like described on page 16 like you are saying they can run and move onto the bored. Those are 2 different ways of setting up on the board. One starts on the table and one starts off of the table b/c for example how am I entering the table on the Descent mission if I start in the middle of the board there is no way to "enter" the table. My question is what happens if I play a mission like that and do not have enough room to fit all my guys and these are not house rules they are just using different version to the terrain and rules already made in a different configuration.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

arkangl said:

 

OMG, you are not getting it. When it says under deployment if it says "Deploy" they don't move on to the table they are already there that means its before the game starts. If it says "enter" like described on page 16 like you are saying they can run and move onto the bored. Those are 2 different ways of setting up on the board. One starts on the table and one starts off of the table b/c for example how am I entering the table on the Descent mission if I start in the middle of the board there is no way to "enter" the table. My question is what happens if I play a mission like that and do not have enough room to fit all my guys and these are not house rules they are just using different version to the terrain and rules already made in a different configuration.

 

 

 

fine , dont believe him ,  straight from one of the designers : 

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/571969/enter-vs-deploy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You both are not getting this. this is the FAQ forum so I want it in the FAQ so that they can explain it not that I don't believe it on there I am just saying I want it in the FAQ. And Oliver still didnt answer the person above him's questions about Descent and Patrol of how do they enter if they can be placed in the middle of the board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

arkangl said:

 

You both are not getting this. this is the FAQ forum so I want it in the FAQ so that they can explain it not that I don't believe it on there I am just saying I want it in the FAQ.

 

 

youre not phrasing it in that manner , you are phrasing it as though you are argueing the point that they ARE different , which as one of the creators has made clear (though on another site forum reply ) , they are not . while i understand you r point about user accounts , his is not a new account , and his participation has been in line to prove or lend creadance to his identity .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry about that let me start over. I would like to see a FAQ on the deploy/enter ruling and explain what happens for missions like "descent" where you start in the middle of a board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also a thing I found should be in the FAQ what happens for missions like Descent also where it says place cover anywhere outside of the objective but the place cover rule states it can only be placed in the middle tiles of the map. Which one supercedes? Reason I say this is because of the Defenders deployment is all the way around the map and the Attackers are in the middle there is no specific center tiles. This is the only current mission I know of with this problem.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Every mission clearly states how terrain is placed and if it states that terrain is placed according to the normal rules then the "zones of cover" are marked on the map. I really don't see how this can cause problems.

There are no missions that have static deployment. For all missions you count as having taken one move action to get onto the board regardless of coming on from an edge or from the centre of the board. Again I don't see how this can cause problems. It is explained on page 16 of the rulebook as I already pointed out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dude do you know what FAQ stands for besides frenqently asked questions it means if they screw up on something in the rule book they announce what they screwed up OFFICIALLY not on the forums. One thing says one thing and the other says the other. IF THEY WANTED IT TO BE STATED THAT ALL MISSIONS GET ENTER THEN THEY SHOULDNT HAVE SCREWED UP TYPING. Unless its official I dont play it that way. It says deploy and in every other game deploy means it starts on the table b4 the game I dont care what it says on page 16. It needs to be put in a FAQ thats what they are for not you telling me what it is. Dont like my address of it deal with it.I am saying it needs to be in the FAQ not that its wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0