Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ds10006

Militia queries

Recommended Posts

Hi, some questions about the Militia:

1. Serial fights - say I beat a militiaman, and 3 spaces away is an enemy character, could I move him 3 spaces to the enemy character who would then have to fight him? If so, presumably if the enemy character won, they could move it back onto my character, essentially sending the militiaman back and forth until he eventually beats one character? (I would say yes as this is very much in the spirit of the game, but is this what the designers intended?)

2. When a militiaman is defeated by a character, can they be moved fewer than 3 spaces? For example, in point 1 above, could I send the militiaman to attack an enemy character 2 spaces away? Similarly could I send him to block a character 2 spaces away even if a legal 3-space move exists?

3. Does a militiaman count as a character? (What about the "incarnates"?). In some places in the rules it seems so, in others not (the term "another character" is used in a leading way in the militia section of the rules to suggest they are characters, but earlier the characters are described as being in one of the four ganags - which would rule them out). You might ask why this should matter: the key place issue is whether you can use arcana cards to affect tgem, e.g. to hinder their movement with a "niggling injury".

Many thanks!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ds10006 said:

Hi, some questions about the Militia:

1. Serial fights - say I beat a militiaman, and 3 spaces away is an enemy character, could I move him 3 spaces to the enemy character who would then have to fight him? If so, presumably if the enemy character won, they could move it back onto my character, essentially sending the militiaman back and forth until he eventually beats one character? (I would say yes as this is very much in the spirit of the game, but is this what the designers intended?)

2. When a militiaman is defeated by a character, can they be moved fewer than 3 spaces? For example, in point 1 above, could I send the militiaman to attack an enemy character 2 spaces away? Similarly could I send him to block a character 2 spaces away even if a legal 3-space move exists?

3. Does a militiaman count as a character? (What about the "incarnates"?). In some places in the rules it seems so, in others not (the term "another character" is used in a leading way in the militia section of the rules to suggest they are characters, but earlier the characters are described as being in one of the four ganags - which would rule them out). You might ask why this should matter: the key place issue is whether you can use arcana cards to affect tgem, e.g. to hinder their movement with a "niggling injury".

Many thanks!

 

 

1.  Technically, no.  You can't end up on the same space as another character.  But I agree; it might be fun if this weren't the rule.  I say house-rule it if you want to.

2.  Yeah, the key is "up to" three spaces.  

3.  I think probably not, though again, if you want to house rule it, why not?  This is a game with a lot of potential for houseruling, I think.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...