Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
rimmer3

Misfortune. What rerolling really means

Recommended Posts

 

Just been reading this,

i see at

 

situation 1

 

player "A" rolls a 1, moves reaper to player "b"

 

player B has to now roll, picks up dice, declares using lucky charm to make the roll 5 or 6

 

before player b puts dice on table

 

player A can now cast misfortune to make the roll 1 one, over writing the lucky charm effect.

as the dice has not been rolled or placed down

 

situation 2

 

player "A" rolls a 1, moves reaper to player "b"

 

player B has to now roll, picks up dice,

 

Player A declares using misfortune to make the roll 1

 

before player b puts dice on table

 

player B can now use Lucky Charm to make the die 5/6, over writing the Misfortune.

as the dice has not been rolled or placed down

 
the dice is then place/rolled on table after all "before the roll" effects have been done

 

 

Both wrong!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes Misfortune is the same therefore 1st one to cast one of the two, seals it. Now there has been discussion on the idea of shouting out spell 1st vs house rules in giving players a chance. But as I shared house rules are fine, but the real rule here is only Misfortune or Lucky Charm can be played, not both.

 

Misfortune is nasty. I shared this before, learning how nasty it is here on these forums, about 4 months ago I sent the reaper on a player and cast Misfortune. I then stated this combo is nasty, and I will never play such a combo again. I wanted to explain how they didn't know how powerful some of the cards were. In my games, it won't be allowed to be played with the Reaper. I did not want to remove it from game. Therefore it would work for toading and other nasty effects.

 

Lucky Charm cannot stack or counter Misfortune. No MTG here.

I have no problem casting Misfortune with the Reaper when playing the D.E., because usually I'm either playing against the A.I., myself, or other people I don't know.

When playing in person, since we play for fun and not competition, I will only use Misfortune if it means turning someone into a Toad, just as a matter of courtesy and friendship.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry to necro a thread, but this actually just came up in a game.

There seem to be different interpretations of the wording in misfortune: "Cast on any character who is about to roll a die. That die automatically rolls a “1” result and cannot be rerolled".

The bold part being left to interpretation. It could either mean:

a) That die is rolled, and the result is automatically a 1; or

b) That die will automatically roll a 1, when it is rolled.

In the case of a), I would say with certainty that no, the lucky charm cannot be used to counter misfortune, as the die has already been rolled.

In the case of b), I would say the answer is not so simple. The die has not been rolled yet, therefore why can't I use the lucky charm to prevent the die from being rolled? The argument here would be, do I have to fully resolve the spell before I can use any other abilities/effects to influence the die roll (not the spell)? And if so, at what point is the spell fully resolved, once it is cast, or once the die is rolled?

Before you answer these questions, think of it this way:

If you interpret it like I do in case b), there is no mention of the die being rolled, just that the die automatically rolls a 1 (when it is rolled). The spell has now magically altered that die (picture a 6 sided die with all 1's on it).

Is the spell fully resolved now that the die has been altered? Or is the spell not resolved until the die is actually rolled?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...