Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
zipinthemid

Grapple & FAQ

Recommended Posts

Q: If a figure jumps over an obstacle that is adjacent to
an enemy figure with Grapple, can the jumping figure be
grappled "in mid-air"?
A. Figures may be grappled in mid-air. Being grappled
in mid-air would stop a figure's movement as soon as it
is grappled. This could result in suffering penalties from
hazardous terrain.

 

Which obstacles could be jumped? I have got JitD, WoD, and RtL and the only obstacles which come to my mind are pits. That's why I don't understand very well this question.

So the FAQ states that if an hero is grappled when jumping a pit he would suffer 1 wound? or it's "in mid-air" thus not suffering the wound until the monster dies?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

zipinthemid said:

Q: If a figure jumps over an obstacle that is adjacent to
an enemy figure with Grapple, can the jumping figure be
grappled "in mid-air"?
A. Figures may be grappled in mid-air. Being grappled
in mid-air would stop a figure's movement as soon as it
is grappled. This could result in suffering penalties from
hazardous terrain.

 

1. Which obstacles could be jumped? I have got JitD, WoD, and RtL and the only obstacles which come to my mind are pits. That's why I don't understand very well this question.

2. So the FAQ states that if an hero is grappled when jumping a pit he would suffer 1 wound? or it's "in mid-air" thus not suffering the wound until the monster dies?

1. Lava (WoD) also comes immediately to mind, which should make the question clear.

Exactly what can and can not be jumped isn't clear.
A number of obstacles explicitly state that they may be jumped (including pits, lava, mud, ice and maybe more) but that doesn't necessarily preclude other props from being 'jump-able'. We will be asking some questions about jumping before the next FAQ (the jump thread hasn't hit the subforum yet, it is numbered 36 at the moment, and we are only up to 21).

2. 'Mid Air' is not a term with any game relevant meaning. It is just descriptive text which means that the grapple will interrupt the jump, causing the jump-er to stop premaurely (and thus possibly enter, and suffer the consequences of, the space he was trying to avoid).
So a hero who is grappled 'above' a pit mid jump enters the pit space and suffers one wound.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Corbon said:

Exactly what can and can not be jumped isn't clear.
A number of obstacles explicitly state that they may be jumped (including pits, lava, mud, ice and maybe more) but that doesn't necessarily preclude other props from being 'jump-able'.

It kind of does.  There are no "generic" jumping rules that apply to "some props".  There's rules in the base game for jumping pits, and then there's additional props in expansions that say that they can be jumped in the same way.

To the best of my knowledge, there's no more reason to think anything else can be jumped than to think that all heroes can teleport like Runemaster Thorn ("Thorn's hero card explicitly states that he can teleport, but that doesn't necessarily preclude other heroes from teleporting in the same fashion").  It's a board game; any game-mechanical action that is not explicitly allowed is prohibited.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Antistone said:

Corbon said:

 

Exactly what can and can not be jumped isn't clear.
A number of obstacles explicitly state that they may be jumped (including pits, lava, mud, ice and maybe more) but that doesn't necessarily preclude other props from being 'jump-able'.

 

 

It kind of does.  There are no "generic" jumping rules that apply to "some props".  There's rules in the base game for jumping pits, and then there's additional props in expansions that say that they can be jumped in the same way.

To the best of my knowledge, there's no more reason to think anything else can be jumped than to think that all heroes can teleport like Runemaster Thorn ("Thorn's hero card explicitly states that he can teleport, but that doesn't necessarily preclude other heroes from teleporting in the same fashion").  It's a board game; any game-mechanical action that is not explicitly allowed is prohibited.

That is why I italicised the 'necessarily'. I agree that it probably does, technically, mean that those are the only jumps allowed. That is what I happen to think, and the way we play.

But that isn't really a very logical thing, and quite a few players seem to automatically assume they can jump over all sorts of things. This is further aggravated in that the AC rules are inconsistant with including what can and can't be jumped over and use only 'shortened' versions of the full rules for various obstacles. If a pit can be jumped using the full rules, but that is ommitted from the short rules, what about new AC props that don't have any longer rules.
Just to further complicate the mix, SoB water (deep) and water (shallow) both state they can't be jumped from. Since mud, pits, lava and ice are never beside the water, and in the case of deep water cannot (it seems likely) possibly be be placed adjacent to deep water, those statements are unnecessary unless jumping is a more general possibility.
Basically, it is all a bit uncertain.

SInce there are a bunch of questions needed about jumping anyway, throwing this one into the mix doesn't add much and keeps the doubters (on either side) happy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...