Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
alboy

Graveyard encounter

Recommended Posts

The Graveyard encounter that says, you find a half-buried corpse, draw a monster from the cup and take it as a trophy. I drew Wizard Whateley, can you take it as a trophy as it says If you pass a combat check, return him to the box. From reading this l get the impression he was not supposed to be taken as a trophy. Can you take him as a trophy?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I completely agree with zealot, you can take him as a throphy. In this particular situation you didn't have to pass a combat check (so you're not entitled to draw a spell and put him back into the box), you didn't have to fight him so you just get the monster token as a throphy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, we talked about a similar issue not too a long time ago in a topic regarding William Yorrick starting possessions. Tibs said - if I remember correctly - that whenever you're instructed to draw a monster and claim it as a trophy, you take it, and that's all. He said (correct me if I'm wrong) something like "you've simply found the corpse. Someone else has done the dirty job, and obtained the reward" (the spell, in the case of Whateley)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I believe that I'd probably said that. Also note that against Rhan-Tegoth, if your drawn trophy is a Cultist, Rhan's power activates and you draw again. Let's hope you don't get a chain of cultists...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks to everyone for their input, l have another question about this, if you trade in Whateley as a  trophy do you  place Whateley back in the box or in the cup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

alboy said:

Thanks to everyone for their input, l have another question about this, if you trade in Whateley as a  trophy do you  place Whateley back in the box or in the cup.

I'd say you return his corpse / token to the cup. The condition for returning him to the box is passing a combat check against him. If you exchange his trophy for something else, this condition is not met. So, back to the cup. Or, at least, this is the way I'd have played this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×