Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Hans Chung-Otterson

Heavy Armor keyword question

Recommended Posts

Okay, so...the Heavy Armor Keyword says that "a unit with this keyword defends as if it were a unit of one rank higher"

But I can't find anything in the rules about defending and how it works at different ranks. It's really confusing. We're about to play, and we're just going to play it that a unit with Heavy Armor (like Maege) acts as one rank higher for the purposes of doing actions off the order table. Is that how it works, or have I just missed some big thing in the book about defending?

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A unit with a "Heavy armor" keyword is considered (but only for a matter of defending) as a one rank higher.

A rank means (in this case) symbols that you have to roll on your (attack) dice to cause a hit to that unit.

So if you have for example a blue heavy armor infantry unit and you attack it with one your red unit, you will roll 4 attack dice (for a simplicity).

But because that unit is considered one rank higher (for a matter of defending), you will hit it only with dice that will have red shield symbol (or valor symbol).

If that blue heavy armor infantry unit attacks, it behaves like a normal blue unit (not as a red unit).

A red heavy armor unit can be hit only with red shield symbols and it completely ignores  valor symbols (it can not ignore red shields, becaus than it would be immortal happy.gif).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah, now I understand. I missed the fact that when I'm a green unit attacking a blue unit, I need to roll blue shields to hit. We played it where green needed green, blue needed, blue, etc. No wonder I was confusedI couldn't see how red was a better unit than blue which was a better unit than green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...