Sign in to follow this  
Drakson

Books for Tannhauser storyline

I was wondering if there are any books for the backstory of Tannhauser. I started playing Warhammer:Invasion and read many of the books on Warhammer etc to get more of the idea behind the game. Any suggestions for reading material on this game.

I have not purchased this game yet only because the place I order from does not have the game with the revised rules yet. I think I will order all the expansion and figures when I do purchase it. I like the idea behind this game and do not have one like it or similar in the games I currently own.

Thanks for any input on books ( or any other suggestions).

I'm not aware of any books based on Tannhauser.  If there are any, they'd probably have been developed by TOY before they went under and sold Tannhauser to FFG wholesale, so they'd be in French.  I'm sure if FFG had commissioned (or translated) any novels, we'd have heard about it around here.

That said, I think Tannhauser is a property that's ripe for novels as a supplement to the board game.  It has the right mix of heavy fluff and atmosphere to make that idea work.  I know FFG has done some limited story publication in the past, so it's not impossible that such a thing might come to pass, if we make enough noise about it. =)

I'm fairly sure that there are no novels, not even in French. 

Personally, I hope it stays that way. I find most of the books published for games like this to be very disappointing compared to what you can imagine for the setting. I prefer that they leave it vague.

Back when ToY had the game rights, French community members were allowed to create fiction. If it was good enough it was published on the frontpage and made "community official".  FYI some of the events from these fictions were included in the timeline which was published later.

Yorktown said: