• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Torche

Rules question: heroes/monsters???

3 posts in this topic

Hi there, I just bought Cave Troll and I was wondering if you guys would mind answering a few questions I have about the rules... some of them are unclear to me.

 

1- On all the Artifact cards, when they use the words "hero" or "heroes" in the description, do they mean heroes/monsters?? Like, can I use the Cloak of invisibility on a monster? or use the orc-killing sword in a room where I only have a monster and no "heroes"?  can I revive a monster with the chalice? How do you guys play?

2- Same thing goes for the Orc, it says "you can discard one hero in this room". Is that a hero/monster?? for example: can an orc kill another orc or a wraith? or can it just kill "heroes"?

At first, every time I saw the word "hero", I would ONLY apply the effect to heroes... but then, I saw an example in the instruction booklet where he uses a wraith to push an ORC out of a room... yet on the wraith's card, it says " you may push one hero out of the room" so that REALLY messed me up.... are monsters heroes or not?? sometimes they use the terms "hero or monster" and sometimes they just use "hero"... but as I mentioned, on the wraith card they only use the word "hero" but he can push an orc, that lead to the questioning of the term "hero" on EVERY card in the game... please help lol! Thanks!
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Greetings.

Here's how we play.  "hero" means hero (round base), not "monster" (square base).  When describing both the rules say "heroes or monsters"

Orcs can only discard heroes.  He'll never discard a knight however.

The wraith cannot enter a room with a knight in it since "When your knight is in a room, none of your opponents' heroes or monsters (except their knights) may enter the room. 

If the wraith is already in the room when the knight enters, however... he CAN push the knight with an action. The wraith CANNOT push monsters (or the barbarian) however.

Your point about the example wraith pushing the orc is a good point.  I just choose to ignore it. ;)

Cave Troll is awesome!  I haven't won yet, but still love it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0