Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Clinthulhu

New Player with Questions.

5 posts in this topic

Hi everybody! Nice to meet ya!

I've only been playing Call of Cthulhu LCG for a few days now so it stands to reason I have a few questions that I can't seem to find a rule for so I figured I would ask you fine people who know more about it then I do.

First Question...

Some cards have Faction Icons before the Card Title... For example card (F 105) Fishers from Outside has two Yog-Sothoth "keys" before the name. What do these mean? I ether can't find a rule for this or have missed it completely.

Second...

When Draining a Domain to bring a card into play. Does the entire cost of the card need to come from one domain or can I Drain 2 or more to bring the card out? For example... the card costs 5 to bring out. Domain A has 3 Resources and Domain B has 2 Resources. Can I Drain both to bring out the card or does the entire cost have to come from a single Domain?

Third...

During the Icon Struggle... At one point I was the Active Player and I commited 1 card to a story, my opponent only applied 1 card as well. My card had 2 Combat Icons, his only had 1 Combat Icon. So his character took a wound which killed the card.

Now here is where the questions comes in.

Does the card immediately die and go to the discard pile or does that happen at the end of the Icon Struggle? The reason I ask is because both of our cards had Arcane Icon and Investigation Icons on them so. If his card dies and goes to discard does that mean that I win an extra Token during the Investigation Struggle?

In this case as well, when you Resolve the Struggle is it considered Unchallenged now because their aren't any opposing cards at the story?

It seems to me that in this case I would win 3 Tokens for this story card. 1 for the Investigation Struggle and two for the story not being contested. Is this correct?

Thanks in advance for clearing this up for me. Like I said I can't find anything that really explains this so I figured it was best to ask.

-Clinthulhu

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Clinthulhu said:

 

First Question...

Some cards have Faction Icons before the Card Title... For example card (F 105) Fishers from Outside has two Yog-Sothoth "keys" before the name. What do these mean? I ether can't find a rule for this or have missed it completely.

 

Steadfast, page 12 in the rules.

Clinthulhu said:

Second...

 

When Draining a Domain to bring a card into play. Does the entire cost of the card need to come from one domain or can I Drain 2 or more to bring the card out? For example... the card costs 5 to bring out. Domain A has 3 Resources and Domain B has 2 Resources. Can I Drain both to bring out the card or does the entire cost have to come from a single Domain?

 

For a cost 5 you need 1 domain with 5 resources, can't combo domains.

Clinthulhu said:

Third...

 

During the Icon Struggle... At one point I was the Active Player and I commited 1 card to a story, my opponent only applied 1 card as well. My card had 2 Combat Icons, his only had 1 Combat Icon. So his character took a wound which killed the card.

Now here is where the questions comes in.

Does the card immediately die and go to the discard pile or does that happen at the end of the Icon Struggle? The reason I ask is because both of our cards had Arcane Icon and Investigation Icons on them so. If his card dies and goes to discard does that mean that I win an extra Token during the Investigation Struggle?

In this case as well, when you Resolve the Struggle is it considered Unchallenged now because their aren't any opposing cards at the story?

It seems to me that in this case I would win 3 Tokens for this story card. 1 for the Investigation Struggle and two for the story not being contested. Is this correct?

 

Yes, he dies immediately and if you have Investigation, in that situation you'd get 3 tokens. Kinda silly of him to commit his 1 Combat character when yours had 2 Combat gui%C3%B1o.gif .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for taking the time to answer these!

As for the 3rd question. It was really only our second attempt at the game and we were both just going over the steps of Icon Struggles. It was basically the only card he had out that he could play so he just put it on there to cause the Icon Struggle which brings us full circle to the question that came up regarding how that would be resolved.

Thanks again for the help!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question as well, I want to make sure we are playing correctly:

 

the active player commits to a story. he exhausts his characters if applicable.

 

The other player responds with two character cards. Are they exhausted as well, or just the "attacking" player?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blutsteigen said:

 

The other player responds with two character cards. Are they exhausted as well, or just the "attacking" player?

Yes, they are exhausted as well. This is true regardless if you are the defender or the attacker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0