Sign in to follow this  
ARISATO2

Any ideas on the rule for making Thunderwolf Cavalry for SW marines?

Hi all.

I'm about to play Deathwatch with my friends and I think I'll play SW marine. I'm SW player for the 40k miniature game so I know some fluffs, so I thought that it might be awesome if I could use a....mount. Double awesomeness for a house-sized wolf mount for sure.

Anyway, in Deathwatch, Space Wolves has a Chapter skill Wrangling, which involves tame, train, and potentially RIDE animals, so I am thinking about a way to put that beast in the game.

In Tabletop game, Thunderwolf mount gives +1 Strength, +1 Toughness, and +1 Attack, as well as rending rule. I'm not really sure how to customize these data into the Deathwatch game...in non-balance-breaking way. And I also think I need to make the data of the wolf itself....not-so-easy job for me who has not-so-much game experience with this rule (this is my first time trying Fantasy Flight Games 40k rule)

Any helps will be appreciated, thanks fellows

All this is from Apocrypha Vehicles from Black Industries.

You're going to have to write up a stat block for a Fenrisian Wolf.

Riding Beasts

When riding a mount, substitute the players movement speed for the mounts.A mount can carry a rider for up to 8 hours plus a number of hours equal to its Toughness Bonus before it must Test Toughness to avoid becoming Fatigued. If a Fatigued mount fails a second Toughness Test, it collapses with exhaustion. At the GMs discretion, such cruel treatment may also carry a risk of injuring the mount.

Riding Beasts in Combat

Riding a beast in to battle can provide distinct advantages over opponents that lack mounts. However, unless the mount has been trained to ignore the smell of blood, the clash of weapons and the sounds of gunfire, controlling a steed can take up all of the rider’s time.

Untrained Mounts