Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Uvatha

Barrier and Movement

17 posts in this topic

Can a player move less than their number rolled for movement when they are stopped by the barrier spell. Or are they forced to move in the other direction because they cannot move passed the barrier spell?
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I always play that if the player opts to go towards the barrier, they have to stop their movement the square before the barrier. (Rolled a 5, barrier is on 4, so stop on 3)

The option to go the other way is a free choice at the start of the turn, so hence they are really not forced to go the other way.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MishaMonster said:

I always play that if the player opts to go towards the barrier, they have to stop their movement the square before the barrier. (Rolled a 5, barrier is on 4, so stop on 3)

The option to go the other way is a free choice at the start of the turn, so hence they are really not forced to go the other way.

 

In your example, this is not the correct way to play it! The player has to move away from the Barrier, as you have to move the full count of the die roll,

Ell

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

talismanamsilat said:

In your example, this is not the correct way to play it! The player has to move away from the Barrier, as you have to move the full count of the die roll,

Ell

I thought that was right!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MishaMonster said:

 

I always play that if the player opts to go towards the barrier, they have to stop their movement the square before the barrier. (Rolled a 5, barrier is on 4, so stop on 3)

The option to go the other way is a free choice at the start of the turn, so hence they are really not forced to go the other way.

 

 

In your example, this is not the correct way to play it! The player has to move away from the Barrier, as you have to move the full count of the die roll,

Ell

OK but how it works in the City?

1) If there is a Barrier in the City space can I move aggains the arrow? Does the Barrier effect overrides special movement City rules?

2) Similar situation but I can go to the shop instead of moving against the arrow. Can I go to the shop and "do nothing" (when I have no gold on my own).

3) If I have a gold (but I do not want to buy in this shop) do I have to perform an action and buy something? Or can I go agains the arrow instead and safe my gold for something else?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
OK but how it works in the City?

1) If there is a Barrier in the City space can I move aggains the arrow? Does the Barrier effect overrides special movement City rules?

2) Similar situation but I can go to the shop instead of moving against the arrow. Can I go to the shop and "do nothing" (when I have no gold on my own).

3) If I have a gold (but I do not want to buy in this shop) do I have to perform an action and buy something? Or can I go agains the arrow instead and safe my gold for something else?

 

Good questions. No easy answers here.

 

The statements I would consider are the following:

 

However, each street space on the City board is marked with an arrow which points in the direction characters must move in order to travel around the street spaces. Characters cannot move against an arrow on a street space unless an ability or effect forces them to do so. (City Rulebook, page 5)

 

the text of Barrier Spell:

 

Cast at the start of your turn or when you have just completed your move. Place this card on any space in your Region not occupied by another character (not in the Inner Region). No character may move onto or through that space until the start of your next turn.

 

and the infamous "Can vs. Cannot" Golden Rule:

 

In any instance where a card’s effect indicates that a character cannot perform an action or use an ability (such as casting a

Spell or using an Object), the character cannot do so. In other words, the forbidding effects of cards override other abilities

and effects.

 

Mixing together the 3 statements, this is how I might resolve the matter:

 

1) Barrier says that I cannot move onto or through the Barrier, so it forbids my normal movement action.

2) Can vs. Cannot says that forbidding effects override other abilities and effects, which might (and I say might) imply that they override the normal rules as well

3) According to City movement rules, if I cannot move in a direction I am forced to move in the opposite direction, even though it is normally not allowed.

 

Other rules, such as rules regarding Shop Spaces, stay in effect as there is no reason why they should be overridden.

 

The answers to you questions would then be:

1) Yes. Yes

2) No

3) Yes. No.

 

Mine's just an opinion and it's the solution that breaks the less rules. All in all, Barrier works for 1 turn per character only, such as Misdirection. Barrier could be used on your own character to visit the same shop twice in the same City loop.

 

A FAQ entry would be fine.

Edited by The_Warlock
Hunter Smith likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for explanation. Seem logical, it has just play! But let's step forward.
If Spell (due to a golden rule Can vs Cannot) overrides special movement rules can I cast Barrier or Black Ice on City's Jail space before I encounter Night Guard to prevent against thrown into the Jail? There are no rules saying you can not cast a spell on Jail (or Treasure Chamber or Eyrie).

1) If there is a Barrier on Jail space, do I have to remain on my current space? Or regardless the Barrier I am thrown into Jail?
2) The same with Black Ice on Jail space, do I have to go to Town Square space? Or regardless the Black Ice I am thrown into Jail?
3) If the is a Black Ice on Treasure Chamber or Eyrie do I have to move one space forward to... Dungeon or Highland Entrance? Or can I encounter Treasure Chamber or Eyrie normally?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for explanation. Seem logical, it has just play! But let's step forward.

If Spell (due to a golden rule Can vs Cannot) overrides special movement rules can I cast Barrier or Black Ice on City's Jail space before I encounter Night Guard to prevent against thrown into the Jail? There are no rules saying you can not cast a spell on Jail (or Treasure Chamber or Eyrie).

1) If there is a Barrier on Jail space, do I have to remain on my current space? Or regardless the Barrier I am thrown into Jail?

2) The same with Black Ice on Jail space, do I have to go to Town Square space? Or regardless the Black Ice I am thrown into Jail?

3) If the is a Black Ice on Treasure Chamber or Eyrie do I have to move one space forward to... Dungeon or Highland Entrance? Or can I encounter Treasure Chamber or Eyrie normally?

 

You pose interesting questions indeed. This is something that won't happen in 99.9% of the games, but when it happens I would say that Barrier and Black Ice can be cast on Jail (nothing prevents it, as you say) but they have no effect. A character who's thrown in Jail isn't actually moved or teleported there. He's "thrown", which could be read as a special keyword that rules out all effects related to movement, such as Spells that interact with movement.

 

On Treasure Chamber and Eyrie, Black Ice should have no effect, because its effect is unapplicable (no chance to move one more space in the same direction of movement). The Dungeon rules say: "When a character reaches the Treasure Chamber, he must end his move there, even if he has more movement available." and the ill-famed Golden Rules say:

 

Special Abilities vs. Rules

In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variance with the basic rules, the special ability or effect always overrides the rules.

 

Well, here you can't override the rule because it's impossible to override it. There are no other ways beside stopping on the Treasure Chamber. Pretending to move to the Dungeon Entrance is assuming that the Dungeon Entrance is the space following the Treasure Chamber, which is not true. On the other hand, Barrier works well to delay landing on the Treasure Chamber for 1 or more turns.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would think a barrier would force a player to not move at all. Unless he had the ability to teleport. The barrier does not give any special or alternate movement, it only hinders.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Generally agree with the exception of Jail space. Barrier states that: "No character may move onto or through that space until the start of your next turn." No matter how you got there.
I temted to play that if there is a Barrier on Jail space you have to remain on your current space and if there is a Black Ice you must move to Town Square.
It could be quite usefull when you are about to encounter a card which can send you to Jail.


 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As for Jail, I don't know how that would play out.

I was gonna say that if you can't teleport out, you also can't prevent going in, however the rules don't point to this, as I just checked. Spells from outside jail still work.

 

In a previous game a week or 2 ago, one character died in jail and he had nice stuff. My son wanted it badly and was trying to get to jail on purpose, and later I picked up the jailer follower, it was funny. he never did make it to jail. This was the 1st time I ever saw someone go to Jail though in 4th edition. And it was vicious and I wouldn't wanna go there no matter what was inside!

Edited by DomaGB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok so how does barrier spell used with misdirection spell apply, when player casting mis direction states clockwise towards barrier which is only 2 spaces away and player rolls a 5 for movement?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok so how does barrier spell used with misdirection spell apply, when player casting mis direction states clockwise towards barrier which is only 2 spaces away and player rolls a 5 for movement?

 

Then the player must move anti-clockwise!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a terrian card is on a Treasure Chamber or Eyrie and my character encounter it and then someone put the Barrier next to Treasure Chamber or Eyrie space do I lost my next turn (because I can not make a movement phase) or encounter the same space with terrian card?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a terrian card is on a Treasure Chamber or Eyrie and my character encounter it and then someone put the Barrier next to Treasure Chamber or Eyrie space do I lost my next turn (because I can not make a movement phase) or encounter the same space with terrian card?

You miss your turn as you cannot move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

If a terrian card is on a Treasure Chamber or Eyrie and my character encounter it and then someone put the Barrier next to Treasure Chamber or Eyrie space do I lost my next turn (because I can not make a movement phase) or encounter the same space with terrian card?

You miss your turn as you cannot move.

 

 

Probably this is the best way to go. I would only allow rolling movement dice to trigger teleport effects (Leprechaun, Flying Carpet and others) or the Nomad to spend a fate if she wants to encounter the same space where she is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree too. So generally if you can not move the full dice roll one way (except teleport and other efects) - you have to go the other way (even against the arrows in the City). But if you have no way to move full dice roll you miss a turn. Nasty If you have Scribe and a Barrier spell...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0