Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Dominico

Questions about command cards.

Recommended Posts

I thought i would make a new thread for questions about command cards so we can clear things up together and have a place to spot the rules.

I will get the ball rolling with the question :

Does the card which states all units in combat lose one the tactics do they include every unit on the board?

ie card sl01 which says each enemy unit engaged with a friendly must take one hit. This is every unit on the board or just within radius of the commander that the tactic was used on?

 

Also card LL06 states roll one die for each uncontrolled enemy unit, so again is this each uncontrolled enemy unit across the board? Im guessing the answer to these are both across the whole board but im not so sure.

Hi to everyone by the way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think they both affect the board because tactics rarely fire off unless their condition is "If your morale is green or better..." and the uncontrolled ones aren't even that strong in my experience.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wording on p.16 of rules is:

 

"The effects of tactics and commands are limited to affecting units
in a commander’s Zone-of-Control (ZOC) of the commander the
card is played on."

i.e., both Tactics and command are restricted to the commander's ZOC.

Which seems realistic. Westeros has neither radios, nor magic spells to allow commanders to affect events outside their immediate vicinity.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

XAos said:

Wording on p.16 of rules is:

 

"The effects of tactics and commands are limited to affecting units
in a commander’s Zone-of-Control (ZOC) of the commander the
card is played on."

i.e., both Tactics and command are restricted to the commander's ZOC.

Which seems realistic. Westeros has neither radios, nor magic spells to allow commanders to affect events outside their immediate vicinity.
 

 

Well spotted, you are right. Makes the tactics a lot less powerful. It will be hard to use some of them for sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dominico said:

XAos said:

 

Wording on p.16 of rules is:

 

"The effects of tactics and commands are limited to affecting units
in a commander’s Zone-of-Control (ZOC) of the commander the
card is played on."

i.e., both Tactics and command are restricted to the commander's ZOC.

Which seems realistic. Westeros has neither radios, nor magic spells to allow commanders to affect events outside their immediate vicinity.
 

 

 

 

Well spotted, you are right. Makes the tactics a lot less powerful. It will be hard to use some of them for sure.

www.boardgamegeek.com/article/5726893#5726893

No, tactics affect the entire board.  The designer stated this was a misprint and clarified the rule over at BGG at the link above.  Also, here is the quote:

"Lol.

For some reason, a quick read of the thread yielded in my mind something different. I am deleting the above response to avoid confusion. Here is the easy answer (now that I discerned the question):

Treat the sentence on page 16 (referred to earlier in this thread) as if it did not include tactics. Most tactics do not even rely on this range and those that do already refer to ordered units when I wanted them to be in this range.

I will update the FAQ when able to include this and the scenario updates.

Thanks for keeping me honest.

Hopefully one or two of you will be able to challenge me at Days of Ice and Fire!

Have a good one.

Rob "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...