Sign in to follow this  
abcdzyxw

Dodging bullets in W40k? (while any ranged dodge is not allowed in wfrp)

Hi,

I'm a beginner to the warhammer rpg systems and just reading through the rules. The dodge rule in DH and RT struck me very strange. You can dodge bullets? Really? Even multiple hits from auto fire? All the while in WFRP (e2) you can't even dodge a thrown object...

Does this make any sence to you guys? The two not only contradict reality, imo, but also each other... How do you guys deal with it?

abcdzyxw said:

Hi,

I'm a beginner to the warhammer rpg systems and just reading through the rules. The dodge rule in DH and RT struck me very strange. You can dodge bullets? Really? Even multiple hits from auto fire? All the while in WFRP (e2) you can't even dodge a thrown object...

Does this make any sence to you guys? The two not only contradict reality, imo, but also each other... How do you guys deal with it?

You know what else contradicts reality?  Psykers.  Oh, and wizards, Elves, Dwarves, Orks, Dæmons, and Ratmen.

The systems are similar, but not the same.  Career mechanics differ, combat round duration, how one gains multiple attack actions aren't the same.  In WFRP2 you have to sacrifice an attack for a defensive action; or be using a second "weapon" to get a free parry.  In Dark Heresy everyone gets an automatic reaction to actively defend themselves, can use an off-hand weapon to actually attack with, but must pick up talents to increase the number of melee attacks they can make.

When you dodge a ranged attack, you're not dodging the bullet or las shot, so much as trying to avoid the focal point of the attack.