Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ultrasroma1975

Number of gates and expansion

Recommended Posts

Hello

 

I recently bought the expansion Dunwich. I wanted to know, as it does not seem to be specified in the rules, if the gates appearing in Dunwich count against the total number of gates which will awaken the Ancient One?

 

For instance, in the case of four players, the total number of gates needed to awake the AO is 7. If there are 6 gates in Arkham and one appears in Dunwich, does the AO awake?

I know monsters do not stack, not sure about gates

 

Thanks in advance

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ultrasroma1975 said:

 

Hello

 

I recently bought the expansion Dunwich. I wanted to know, as it does not seem to be specified in the rules, if the gates appearing in Dunwich count against the total number of gates which will awaken the Ancient One?

 

For instance, in the case of four players, the total number of gates needed to awake the AO is 7. If there are 6 gates in Arkham and one appears in Dunwich, does the AO awake?

I know monsters do not stack, not sure about gates

 

Thanks in advance

 

 

 

Monsters in expansion boards do not count against the monster limit, but gates in expansion boards count against the gate limit.  Congratulations :') your game just got harder.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After I added DH, there was a rash of GOO-wakings (wakes lengua.gif ?) from too many gates open. It was just so dam(n) easy to overlook a gate or two in Dunwich, then suddenly go, "waitaminute" sonrojado.gif . Especially after adding BGotW to my mix, too many gates hasn't been an issue, I learned to hit them early, someone should be in no later than turn 2 (and be seal-ready at that or else enter a really low-frequency location).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you play with multiple expansions, these rules are changed :

If using more than one expansion board at once (both
Dunwich and Innsmouth, for example), place both boards
above the Arkham board during setup, arranging them
so that their Other Worlds sections (or Deep Ones Rising
track) line up along a single edge. It does not matter which
board is closest to the Arkham board.

The rules are unchanged when using more than one
expansion city, except that the number of players should be
counted as being one less for each expansion board in play
beyond the first. So, if six players are playing a game using
both Dunwich and Innsmouth (for a total of two expansion
cities), they are counted as having one less player, for a
total of five players. This modified number of players is
used for such things as the monster limit and the maximum
number of gates that can be open at once, and it reduces
the level of difficulty for the players since they have so
much more ground to cover.

This handicap may not the modified number of
players below one, and it is recommended that players play
with more investigators if it would do so.

Finally, if specifically using both Dunwich and Innsmouth
together, increase the number of gates that must be open at
the same time to awaken the Ancient One by one.

No special rules are required to use the smaller expansions
(e.g., Curse of the Dark Pharaoh or The King in Yellow)
in conjunction with the expansion cities.
Innsmouth Horror

 

(from Innsmouth horror rules)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. Using multiple expansion board results in a player-number handicap. All things that count the number of players (gate limit, monster limit, 2-monsters-per-gate, certain rumors) EXCEPT for removing doom tokens in final combat, are lowered by 1 or 2. Also when you have Dunwich and Innsmouth together, the gate limit goes up by 1 in addition. For the most part these changes are well needed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...