Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
--JP

2 Missile Countdowns

Recommended Posts

Two of your Timed Destruction tokens have the "Asphyxiated!" symbol on one side and "Missile Launched!" on the other side. That makes it possible to have two tokens in play at the same time. For me the interesting question is whether I will be able to remove both of them with one Stop Missile Launch action if I have not passed any of the tokens on the Time Track when my attempt is being made.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

bruno faidutti said:

 Yes, one fix removes both timed missile launches. This means that there's no real difference between placing the second one and not placing it.

 

That makes perfectly sense since performing the Fix Oxygen Pumps action or the Fix Engine action both reset the associated track and removes the token. Thanks for the clarification!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

bruno faidutti said:

 Yes, one fix removes both timed missile launches. This means that there's no real difference between placing the second one and not placing it.

Yes, there is. In the one game we played, we had a timed missle come up. Our Orange player had a deactivation code, however, and enough time that when it reached his turn he would be sure of getting it. However, he was one of the farthest forward on the time track.

On another player's turn, they did their stuff, but one of the events they passed was the second missle activation. However, this one was placed 3 or 4 minutes before the other one. Suddenly, we did not have a sure thing of getting the missiles down, but only about a 60% chance.

We ended up ruling that we could only have one timed missle destruction at one time, but I guess that isn't correct.

But it certainly can make a difference placing the second.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, based on what the designer said just a few posts up on this very page, I assumed that he meant that you place the second one as normal. I guess I was wrong. happy.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Joram said:

Well, based on what the designer said just a few posts up on this very page, I assumed that he meant that you place the second one as normal. I guess I was wrong. happy.gif

He said you place it but for all practical purposes, it does nothing. 

  • If you fix it in time for the first one, then the 2nd one is fixed.
  • If you don't fix it in time for the first one, the game is over anyway.
  • Theoretically, A gnome could go past the first event and fix the 2nd one but that just brings you back to the first two points and you gnome just wasted time fixing something that didn't matter.

So you can ignore the second card if the first event is still on the board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is not correct. If there are two identical timed event tokens in play, a player decides which of the events he is attempting to resolve before rolling the die. See the forum entry entitled "Comprehensive FAQ project". I have provided official responses to questions such as these. See, specifically, question 8.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...