Sign in to follow this  
Twn2dn

Joining the NYC meta...

It sounds like my wife may have landed a job in NYC teaching at City University of NY, and we could move up to NYC as soon as August. This isn't 100% yet, but it sounds fairly certain. The move promises to be a big change, but looking forward to seeing the NYC meta folk more regularly :P

Since I have very little experience with NYC other than my brief trips up there for AGOT (and a couple other random excursions), can anyone provide advice/guidance on any of the following questions?

1. My wife will teach at CUNY's Kingston campus in Brooklyn. Is Brooklyn a good place to live...ie, is it relatively affordable, safe, and easily accessible to other parts of NYC? (I haven't found a job yet, so I need to make sure that wherever our future apartment is allows me to commute into the city, if necessary.)
  2. If Brooklyn is a good place to live, what should I expect for rent for a 2-bedroom apartment? If Brooklyn is a bad place to live (or if I just want to keep my options open), would Queens be a decent alternative? (We're hoping to live in a suburb rather than Manhattan.)
  3. How far is Brooklyn/Queens from the regular AGOT game shops/venues? Though it will be only a minor factor in my decision making, if two apartments turn out to be equally enticing, this could be a small but deciding factor in where we live :P

Thanks guys! (Sorry to post a pseudo-non-AGOT-related post in the general forums. But you guys are all I have when it comes to NYC wisdom/living.)