PokemonRegicedkkd

Is ion cannon on a bwing a good idea?

I am relatively new to x wing and I haven’t played with ion cannons before.  I am not sure if it is a good idea to equip on wings.  I have two b wings,  two x wings, and one y wing.  I don’t know if there is a squad that works with the cannons.  Thanks.  

Personally, I don’t put ion cannons on b-wings since they are the most expensive cannon and the b-wing’s primary weapon is a 3 dice attack.

Tractor beam, on the other hand, is handy with foils and other same initiative (or lower) ships in your squad.

Sadly cannons on stock B-wings are not a favorable upgrade since you are giving up a 3 dice primary attack for a 3 dice cannon and paying significant points for it. Ions are somewhat more compelling replacing a 2 dice attack like a Scyk since the cannon has a better chance of just plain hitting than the standard weapon.

If you can get a hold of the Hotshots and Aces card pack* it includes two copies of the B-wing only upgrade Stabilizer Foils! With this you don't have to give up your primary attack since as long as you don't use your target lock on the primary you can spend it to make a bonus attack with the cannon. :)

* Aside from Stab Foils, Hotshots and Aces Reinforcement Pack also has an interesting i5 B-wing pilot(passes away her stress), passive sensors(worth considering for torpedo B-wings), Autoblasters(a worthwhile alternative to ion cannon if you like to get close with your B-wings), a slew of force powers for Luke, ...and a bunch of cards for other ships/factions. If you have a group you play X-wing with and don't intend to branch out into most factions I would recommend splitting this pack with a friend.