Schanez

Rebels lacking Astromechs?

So I am relatively new to the game, been playing for a year and only have one tournament behind me, on which I did rather poorly. But... I like to read a lot and theory-craft with lists from factions I don't play, or only now plan to try out. And it occurred to me recently, that the Rebel Alliance is severely lacking in the Astromech department. Out of curiosity I did a search and the results were quire... Surprising to say the least. Here is a quick comparison of the factions, that use Astromechs.

• Rebel Alliance: 3 faction unique Astromechs (R2-D2, R5-D8, "Chopper") out of which only 1 grants a unique ability; the other 2 are better versions of generic R2 and R5
  • Scum and Villainy: 3 faction unique Astromechs (R5-P8, R5-TK, "Genius") and each grants a unique ability
  • Galactic Republic: 6 faction unique Astromechs (R2-A6, R2-C4, R4-P17, R4-P44, R4-P, C1-10P) and each grants a unique ability and 1 is a non-limited astromech
  • Resistance: 6 faction unique Astromechs (BB Astromech, BB-8, M9-G8, R1-J5, R2-HA, R5-X3) and 5 of those grant a unique ability, while BB-8 is a better version of non-limited BB

Looking at the comparison, Rebels have one unique Astromech, the "Genius", while the other factions have a much wider spectrum of available features. Especially the Republic and Resistance stand out in this regard. While I think I know the reason, that being Rebels came directly from 1.0 and the other two factions were developed for 2.0 (apart from some Resistance ships?). It astonishes me, why weren't the Rebels given any new upgrades for that slot? It seems like Rebels are the "simpletons" while the newer factions get all the "cool" ideas.

Rebels and Scum get the worst of it.  Scum may seem like they get better off with 3 uniques, but "R5-TK" is very, very niche and R5-P8 is barely okay. 50% of the time it does nothing, and 12.5% it literally deals a crit to you.